We were all in love when Chrissie Hynde let lose with her music heard as The Pretenders. Not to “diss” or “shade” the others – they were essential – but it was the beauty and gravitas of Chrissie Hynde that created “value added” to the band. For 11 Pretenders albums, and two solo creations, Chrissie Hynde remained relevant, which is not an easy thing to do for aging artists (No, Chrissie…you’re STILL amazingly beautiful!). So, when Chrissie wants to do a covers album of Dylan tunes, I say…let’s hear it!

On August 30, Chrissie Hynde will release her third solo album, Standing In The Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob Dylan. The physical CD and vinyl LP follow on August 20. In it are nine songs recorded during everyone’s favorite hiatus period. And while I’m betting there were some outtakes from these recording sessions, it doesn’t look like we’ll get to hear them. I would have loved to hear Chrissie’s take on anything from Empire Burlesque, or Street Legal. Nevertheless, I like this offering.

Standing In The Doorway: Chrissie Hynde Sings Bob DylanChrissie Hynde

01 In the Summertime
02 You’re a Big Girl Now
03 Standing in the Doorway
04 Sweetheart Like You
05 Blind Willie McTell
06 Love Minus Zero/No Limit
07 Don’t Fall Apart on Me Tonight
08 Tomorrow Is a Long Time
09 Every Grain of Sand

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.