Stevie Nicks 24 karat goldThe last time we heard from Stevie Nicks, solo-wise, was with the release of her 2011 gem. In Your Dreams. That album delivered a wealth of excellent songs proving that Stevie Nicks was as musically important in this day and age, as any time she has recorded and released material for. I still run “Cheaper Than Free” from that album, not only through my head on its own power, but the occasional return to the actual track.

It’s always great news to hear that Stevie Nicks is recording again. So when 24 Karat Gold, the new Nicks album, was announced, I grew a little excited for it. My go-to Nicks album remains Rock a Little from 1985, but that’s a personal preference. I’m sure that many of you – if you’re a fan of Stevie Nicks – have your own personal favorite solo album. Track for track, Rock a Little presented to me a strong work with extreme lasting power, again, with songs that replay themselves over and over in my head. Still…

On October 7, Reprise Records will release Stevie Nicks‘ eighth solo album, 24 Karat Gold – Songs From the Vault. And while the Songs From the Vault reference may have some thinking that these are previously recorded outtakes stitched together to create a fast release, it is not that at all. In fact, these songs are previously written – and likely previously recorded – Nicks tunes from the periods of 1969 through 1995. What makes them new is the reality that Stevie Nicks have recorded these songs anew to provide a more current flavoring of interpretation.

The new album will provide fourteen songs (track-list below), with “The Dealer” currently in release to champion the upcoming set . Having listened to the new song, I would have to say that – again, if you’re a Nicks fan – we’re in for a treat as it is as fresh as anything she has done.

24 Karat Gold – Songs From the Vault will be released as a single CD set, a 2LP set (released earlier on September 29) with download access to the MP3s included, and a Deluxe Edition version that includes 2 bonus tracks (“Twisted”, “Watch Chain”), featuring a re-sequenced track-listing, and a richly filled 48-page photo booklet.

Track-List (Single CD)

01. Starshine
02. The Dealer
03. Mabel Normand
04. Blue Water
05. Cathouse Blues
06. 24 Karat Gold
07. Hard Advice
08. Lady
09. I Don t Care
10. All The Beautiful Worlds
11. Belle Fleur
12. If You Were My Love
13. Carousel
14. She Loves Him Still

Track-List  (Deluxe Edition, LP)

01. Starshine
02. If You Were My Love
03. Mabel Normand
04. Twisted
05. 24 Karat Gold
06. Belle Fleur
07. All The Beautiful Words
08. Lady
09. I Don’t Care
10. Watch Chain
11. Hard Advice
12. Carousel
13. Blue Water
14. Cathouse Blues
15. The Dealer
16. She Loves Him Still

By MARowe

4 thoughts on “Stevie Nicks To Release New Album, 24 Karat Gold, In October”
  1. Am I the only person fed with these new releases that offer basic, deluxe and super deluxe packages? Give us all the same tracks but the choice of CD, record or download. SMH!

  2. Fascinating! So now vinyls are getting bonus tracks over the c.d.s that do not! Very interesting! It’s also intriguing that this is coming out when Fleetwood Mac are supposedly working on recording a new studio l.p. (that I understand is still the “Rumor”s lineup) that I thought would be coming out if not later this year then sometime next. I guess that Stevie is not touring or doing any shows for “24 Karat Gold: Songs From The Vault”?

Comments are closed.