The Pogues were a strong Irish band that combined traditional Celtic roots sounds with Punk to jump into the accepting high flames of ’80s music. Stiff Records signed the band in 1982 releasing Red Roses For Me as their debut. But it was their second album, the Elvis Costello-produced Pogues classic, Rum, Sodomy & The Lash (1985), with its popular singles, “A Pair of Brown Eyes”, and “Dirty Old Town”, that grabbed the ears – and hearts – of even more fans. Over 14 years, The Pogues released seven albums, four of them Gold status.

On October 30, Rhino and WB will release a nice expanded collection of BBC sessions tracks on CD and DD, originally designed for RSD on vinyl. This 23-track collection draws together six different session periods selecting familiar classic Pogues (and Pogue Mahone) gems for a nice roundup. The set is called The Pogues: The BBC Sessions 1984 – 1986.  There are two select sessions that are contained here that were NOT on the RSD vinyl release of the same title.

The Pogues: The BBC Sessions 1984 – 1986The Pogues

The John Peel Show (as Pogue Mahone)  – April 17, 1984
01 Streams Of Whiskey
02 Greenland Whale Fisheries
03 Boys From The County Hell
04 The Auld Triangle
David ‘Kid’ Jensen Show – July 9, 1984
05 Dingle Regatta
06 Poor Paddy On The Railway
07 Boys From The County Hell
08 Connemara, Let’s Go
The John Peel Show – December 16, 1984
09 Whiskey You’re The Devil
10 Navigator
11 Sally MacLennane
16 Danny Boy
The Phil Kennedy Show – March 2, 1985 (not on RSD LP)
13 A Pair Of Brown Eyes
14 Muirshin Durkin
15 Sally MacLennane
The Janice Long Show – July 11, 1985 
16 Wild Cats Of Kilkenny
17 Billy’s Bones
18 The Old Main Drag
19 Dirty Old Town
The Janice Long Show – November 5, 1986 (not on RSD LP)
20 If I Should Fall From Grace With God
21 Lullaby Of London
22 The Rake At The Gates Of Hell
23 Turkish Song Of The Damned

By MARowe