John Cale, removed from The Velvet Underground, started a solo career, that, in hindsight, proved to be a solid choice for him. Over the decades, a release from John Cale is usually met with enthusiasm. In 1970, John Cale released his first solo effort with Vintage Violence. It was released by Columbia Records, as was his second, Church of Anthrax. He released his next two for Reprise Records before hopping over to Island Records in 1974. For the thirteen months, John Cale released three albums on the label – Fear (1974), Slow Dazzle (1975), and Helen of Troy (1975). To date, John Cale has over 20 albums in all, including the 1990 Sire Records-released Lou Reed collaboration, Song For Drella.

On July 26, Esoteric Recordings (Cherry Red UK) will release a 3CD boxed set that will contain the three Island Records issues. They are all newly remastered, and will contain 7 bonus tracks that include B-sides, alternates, and session outtakes. The box will insert a booklet with notes, essay, and credits as well as photos.

The 3CD boxed set will be housed in a clamshell box, and will be known as Ship Of Fools – The Island Years.

Ship Of Fools (The Island Years)John Cale

CD1 (Fear)
01 Fear is a Man’s Best Friend
02 Buffalo Ballet
03 Barracuda
04 Emily
05 Ship of Fools
06 Gun
07 The Man Who Couldn’t Afford to Orgy
08 You Know More Than I Know
09 Momamma Scuba
Bonus Track
10 Sylvia Said (B-Side Single – October 1974)

CD2 (Slow Dazzle)
01 Mr. Wilson
02 Taking it All Away
03 Dirty-Ass Rock n’ Roll
04 Darling, I Need You
05 Rollaroll
06 Heartbreak Hotel
07 Ski Patrol
08 I’m Not the Loving Kind
09 Guts
10 The Jeweller
Bonus Tracks
11 All I Want is You
12 Bamboo Floor
13 The Jeweller (alternate version)

CD3 (Helen Of Troy)
01 My Maria
02 Helen of Troy
03 China Sea
04 Engine
05 Save Us
06 Cable Hogue
07 I Keep a Close Watch
08 Pablo Picasso
09 Leaving it Up to You
10 Baby, What You Want Me to Do?
11 Sudden Death
Bonus Tracks (From Sessions)
12 Coral Moon
13 You & Me
14 Mary Lou

By MARowe