Black Mountain Black Mountain 10th Anniversary Deluxe EditionBlack Mountain, a Vancouver, BC band with a brilliant retro sound not unlike the heavy rock of the late ’60s, early ’70s, formed back in 2004. Formed with Stephen McBean, the excellent vocals of Amber Webber, and admirably rounded out by Matt Camarind, Jeremy Schmidt, and Joshua Wells, Black Mountain gave us an updated stoner rock sound that satisfied the music lover in a lot of us. (In the off times, Stephen McBean records with Pink Mountaintops, while Amber Webber and Joshua Wells create with Lightning Dust.) Their first album was the excellent self-titled Black Mountain album. Before it, the band offered up Druganaut, an EP of four tracks that featured an extended version of the title track, “Druganaut”, a modified version of which is found on the first full-length album.

Since the release of that first album, Black Mountain has gained a sizable fanbase. Their debut was followed up by the even more memorable, In The Future, in 2008, and book-ended by their equally memorable Wilderness Heart, issued in 2010. With 2015 well under way, I’d say that we’re anxiously awaiting a new Black Mountain album. However…

In our wait, it has been announced that their label, Jagjaguwar Records, will reissue the Black Mountain debut as a 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition. Planned for June 23, this 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition will come lavishly expanded with eight bonus tracks from the original sessions. That efficiently reels me in!

Planned is the inclusion of the Druganaut EP with three of its original tracks, a UK Radio Edit of “No Satisfaction”, and four previously unreleased tunes that include “Behind The Fall”, “It Wasn’t Arson”, and two demo tracks, “Set Us Free”, and “Black Mountain” (see complete track list below).

In its release, Black Mountain – 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition will be issued on 2CD, DD, and a Limited Edition 2LP set with standard black vinyl, and a limited edition grey vinyl. The gatefold jacket of the 2LP will contain foil printing, as will the 2CD set.

Black Mountain LP

Black Mountain – Black Mountain
(10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition) 2LP Track-List
(The 2CD follows the same sequence order)
1. Modern Music (2:45)
2. Don’t Run Our Hearts Around (6:04)
3. Druganaut (3:48)
4. No Satisfaction (3:48)
5. Set Us Free (6:46)
6. No Hits (6:45)
7. Heart Of Snow (8:00)
8. Faulty Times (8:35)
9. Druganaut (Extended Remix) (8:15)
10. Buffalo Swan (9:08)
11. Bicycle Man (3:21)
12. Behind The Fall (3:01)
13. Set Us Free (Demo) (5:56)
14. Black Mountain (Demo) (3:27)
15. No Satisfaction (UK Radio) (4:25)
16. It Wasn’t Arson (4:42)

The band has a tour schedule up with US stops in Chicago, and Bellingham (WA). Complete tour stops below:

[All tickets at]
5/30 Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
6/04 Bellingham, WA – The Shakedown w/ Elephant Stone
6/06 Vancouver, BC- Levitation Vancouver – Malkin Bowl
6/10 London, UK – 100 Club
6/11 Paris, FR – Maroquinerie
6/12 Brussels, BE – Botanique
6/13 Luzern, CH – B-Sides Festival
6/14 Vienna, AT – Arena
6/15 Zagreb, HR – KSET
6/16 Ljubljana, SI – Menzi Pri Koritu
6/17 Milano, IT – Magnolia Summer Festival
6/19 Vitoria-Gasteiz, ES – Azkena Rock Festival
6/21 Hilvarenbeek, NL – Best Kept Secret
7/15 Ottawa, ON – Ottawa Blues fest

By MARowe

2 thoughts on “Black Mountain Celebrate 10th Anniversary Of Debut With Deluxe Edition In June”
  1. Hi Matt,

    Ever since you published your first experience with Black Mountain I’ve listened to them with great pleasure. Well I have to tell you about a new player that you or may not heard – Ruby the Hatchet: Valley of the Snake. I think you’ll enjoy them. A bit harder than Black Mountain but…pretty good too.

    1. If there’s one thing I love about you guys is that it’s a community of discovery. Thanks, Steve, for the heads up. I will be listening!

Comments are closed.