Mud formed back in the late ’60s as a Pop band but later found more fame as a Glam band in the ’70s. But by the late ’70s, Mud has disintegrated and disbanded in 1979. Nevertheless, the legacy left behind by the band is notable and deserves to be chronicled in a box set. Their music was delightful and in the ’70s along with Sweet, Smokey, Suzy Quatro, and others, Mud knew how to make ’em! Less recognized but as viable as those mentioned with them.

On July 21, Mud gets proper recognition via 7Ts ( Cherry Red UK) with a richly filled 3CD box set that will feature 61 tracks. That includes all of the band’s singles released over seven years. That period fills the charts from 1973-1980. Songs like “Lonely This Christmas”, “Dyna-mite”, and “Tiger Feet”, this set will fill the void in your library with a collection, new notes, photos, and the “Ring” single, as well as three songs by the band’s vocalist, Les Gray in his solo outing.

The set will be called simply The Singles 1973-1980.

The Singles 1973-1980Mud

01 Crazy
02 Do You Love Me
03 Hypnosis
04 Last Tango In London
05 Dyna-mite
06 Do It All Over Again
07 Tiger Feet
08 Mr. Bagatelle
09 The Cat Crept In
10 Morning
11 Rocket
12 The Ladies
13 In The Mood (as Dum)
14 Watching The Clock (as Dum)
15 Lonely This Christmas
16 I Can’t Stand It
17 The Secrets That You Keep
18 Still Watching The Clock
19 Oh Boy
20 Moonshine Sally
21 Bye Bye Johnny

01 One Night
02 Shake Rattle And Roll / See You Later Alligator
03 L’ L’ Lucy
04 My Love Is Your Love
05 Show Me You’re A Woman
06 Don’t You Know
07 Shake It Down
08 Laugh, Live, Love
09 Nite On The Tiles
10 Time And Again
11 Lean On Me
12 Greacian Lament
13 A Groovy Kind Of Love (Les Gray)
14 U.S. Style (Les Gray)
15 Slow Talking Boy
16 Let Me Out
17 Just Try (A Little Tenderness)
18 Gives You The Good Times Now
19 What Do You Want To Make Those Eyes At Me For (Les Gray)
20 Stand Still Stella (Les Gray)

01 Beating Round The Bush
02 Under The Moon Of Love
03 Don’t Ever Change (as Roly)
04 Yes I Do (as Roly)
05 Cut Across Shorty
06 We’ve Got To Know
07 Drift Away
08 Let Me Get (Close To You)
09 Car Friends (as Roly)
10 Roly Pin (as Roly)
11 Why Do Fools Fall In Love / Book Of Love
12 Run, Don’t Walk
13 I Think Of You (Les Gray)
14 I Think I’ll Go That Way (Les Gray)
15 You’ll Like It
16 Can’t Stop
17 Drop Everything And Run
18 Taking The Easy Way Out
19 Rico (as Ring)
20 Make A Buck (as Ring)

By MARowe