During the punk period of the late ’70s, which helped pave the way for the highly varied New Wave and Post-Punk styles, one underrated individual was smack dab in the thick of it. His name was Johnny Thunders. Johnny Thunders was a part of the influential New York Dolls, which produced 2 albums during its peak era before crashing and burning. Johnny Thunders went on to form The Heartbreakers, releasing the excellent post-punk gem, L.A.M.F. in 1977. Thunders also embarked on a solo career, releasing the excellent So Alone set in 1978 (highly recommended). Johnny Thunders tragically died in 1991 at the age of 38.

On April 7, Cleopatra Records will remember the music of Johnny Thunders with a 3CD set to be called From The Beginning To The End. The album will feature 39 live performance and rare bonus tracks altogether. A 28-page booklet is packed in with all the stuff you’d expect from a set like this.

You can pre-order the set here.

From The Beginning To The EndJohnny Thunders

01 That’s Poison
02 I Am Confronted
03 It’s Too Late
04 Oh Dot!
05 I’m A Boy, I’m A Girl
06 Coconut Grove
07 Take Me To Your Party
08 Oh Dot! (Take 2)
09 It’s Too Late (Take 2)
10 We Have Been Through This Before
11 Why Am I Alone?

01 Intro: Ask Me No Questions / The Wizard
02 Pipeline
03 (I’m Not) Your Stepping Stone
04 Great Big Kiss
05 The 10 Commandments of Love
06 These Boots Are Made For Walking
07 Like A Rolling Stone
08 Endless Party
09 Pills
10 (I’m Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
11 Personality Crisis

01 Help The Homeless
02 Disappointed In You
03 Nine Lives
04 Glory, Glory
05 Some Hearts
06 A Lie on You
07 In God’s Name
08 Jungle Love
09 Bring It On Home
10 What’s Going On
11 Another Girl Another Planet
12 You Can’t Put Your Arms Around A Memory
Bonus Tracks
13 You Can’t Put Your Arms Around a Memory (The Courettes Mix)
14 Wild Horses
15 Dead Flowers
16 Crime of the Century
17 Automatics featuring Johnny Thunders – Wild One

By MARowe