Tattoo You is a Rolling Stones reissue that was recently ‘leaked…somewhat’ by Ron Wood in an interview. As of today, the news is out that Tattoo You (1981) will celebrate its 40th Anniversary with a lavish set that will include 4CDs and a picture disc vinyl LP along with a few extras like a 124-page hardbound book and cool lenticular sleeve artwork. Yes, many Stones fans have been waiting on this one. I know I have. (I was a better than average fan of Dirty Work (1986), but I did not like Undercover from 1983. I believe that Tattoo You was the band’s last great recorded project.) 

On October 22, The Rolling Stones will unleash the 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition of Tattoo You that will be issued in various formats and configurations. For the die-hard collectors, the 4CD/1LP set will provide the original album with a new 2021 remaster. The album is strengthened by 9 new and unheard tracks which include an early version of “Start Me Up”.

The remaining two CDs will feature the Stones‘ “Still Life” concert heard at Wembley Stadium in London on June 26, 1982. (The Stones played the venue on June 25 also.)

One of the previously unheard tracks from CD2 – “Living In The Heart Of Love” can be heard below.

The 40th Anniversary celebration of Tattoo You will be attended by a 4CD/1LP Deluxe package (with 124-page book), a 4CD Box, a 2CD set, and a 1CD release (original album only). There will be a 5LP Box (with 124-page book), a 2LP Black vinyl set, a 2LP clear vinyl set, a 1LP picture disc, and a 1LP black set. All LP sets are 180g-weight vinyl. A Cassette edition is on the market as well as a wealth of bundled packages that include tees. Pre-order away here.

Tattoo You (40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition – 2021 Remaster) – The Rolling Stones

CD1 (Original Album with 2021 Remaster
01 Start Me Up 
02 Hang Fire
03 Slave
04 Little T&A
05 Black Limousine 
06 Neighbours 
07 Worried About You
08 Tops 
09 Heaven 
10 No Use In Crying
11 Waiting On A Friend 

CD2  (Lost & Found: Rarities)
01 Living In The Heart Of Love
02 Fiji Jim
03 Trouble’s A Coming
04 Shame Shame Shame
05 Drift Away
06 It’s A Lie
07 Come To The Ball
08 Fast Talking Slow Walking
09 Start Me Up (Early Version)

CD3 (“Still Life” (Wembley Stadium, London – June 26, 1982)
01 Under My Thumb
02 When The Whip Comes Down
03 Let’s Spend The Night Together
04 Shattered
05 Neighbours
06 Black Limousine
07 Just My Imagination (Running Away With Me)
08 Twenty Flight Rock
09 Going To A Go Go
10 Chantilly Lace
11 Let Me Go
12 Time Is On My Side
13 Beast Of Burden
14 Let It Bleed

CD4 (“Still Life” (Wembley Stadium, London – June 26, 1982)
01 You Can’t Always Get What You Want
02 Band Introductions
03 Little T&A
04 Tumbling Dice
05 She’s So Cold
06 Hang Fire
07 Miss You
08 Honky Tonk Women
09 Brown Sugar
10 Start Me Up
11 Jumpin’ Jack Flash
12 (I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction

By MARowe

One thought on “The Rolling Stones Celebrates 40th Anniversary Of Tattoo You”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.