Johnny Cash is one of the premier artists of his time, helping to blend Country with Rock during Rock’s period of young growth. From there, he served both communities well and had extensive fans within both genres. His time generated more than 70 albums, most on Columbia Records. Even as his death approached, he was as popular as ever, especially with a new grouping of fans that relished his American series recordings. Johnny Cash died in 2003 at the young age of 71.

On June 28, the Cash estate will released Songwriter via Mercury Nashville. Within the new album will be 11 songs represent demo tracks that were written by Johnny Cash late in his life, songs that were never properly recorded and never released. With the help of his son, John Carter Cash, this album has been revitalized and updated so that fans the worldwide can enjoy the works that Johnny Cash has completed but never released. The songs have the Johnny Cash vocals isolated and put to new music to complete a Johnny Cash album.


Songwriter will be released on CD, DD, and LPs, one variation that will feature standard black vinyl, and another that will feature a Limited Edition Smoke swirl vinyl pressing. The Smoke edition will add in a lithograph of the album cover as a bonus (but not the black vinyl edition). Hear “Well Alright” from the album below.

SongwriterJohnny Cash
01 Hello Out There
02 Spotlight
03 Drive On
04 I Love You Tonite
05 Have You Ever Been To Little Rock?
06 Well Alright
07 She Sang Sweet Baby James
08 Poor Valley Girl
09 Soldier Boy
10 Sing It Pretty Sue
11 Like A Soldier

By MARowe