If you remember the swamp music and the unique Cajun voice style of Tony Joe White, especially from his big hit from 1969, “Polk Salad Annie” (hear below), then this “new music” announcement might warm your heart with the arrival of a new – albeit posthumous – album. 

On May 7, Dan Auerbach’s label, Easy Eye Sound, will release the new Tony Joe White album, Smoke From The Chimney. This album is a collection of new songs that have been lovingly created from a collection of discovered Tony Joe White demos. (Tony Joe White died in 2018.) Selected by Tony Joe White’s son, Jody White, and put into the hands of Dan Auerbach to properly record them with a setting of musicians have generated 9 finished songs.

The new album has a single out, “Boot Music”, which can be heard below. Judging from the new song, Tony Joe White still sounds like the swamp music singer we remember him as.  Smoke From The Chimney will be released on CD, DD, and in two separate color editions of vinyl LP (collectible orange or standard black).

Tony Joe White is also remembered as the writer of the classic “Rainy Night In Georgia” tune made popular by Brook Benton.

Smoke From The ChimneyTony Joe White
01 Smoke From The Chimney
02 Boot Money
03 Del Rio, You’re Making Me Cry
04 Listen To Your Song
05 Over You
06 Scary Stories
07 Bubba Jones
08 Someone Is Crying
09 Billy

By MARowe