Sufjan Stevens released his first album, A Sun Came , at the turn of the new millennium in 2000. But it would not be until his fifth album, Illinoise, that he would gain a larger audience. Released in 2005, Illinoise received a wealth of critical praise that it was well deserving of. In all, the singer-songwriter, who launched his own label to release his albums (through Asthmatic Kitty), has produced nine studio sets. He also launched the careers of Lily & Madeleine through his label.

On September 25, Sufjan Stevens will release his tenth with The Ascension. This new album will contain fifteen new tracks including a 12-minute+ tune called “America”. On July 3, the first single from the album (“America”) will release digitally. It will be released as a 12″ 45RPM vinyl single on July 31 limited to only 1500 copies (currently sold out), and will be backed with a 10-minute + non-album track, “My Rajneesh”.

The Ascension will be released on CD, DD, Cassette, 2LP Black vinyl, and a limited edition 2LP Clear vinyl. The accompanying booklet will be 16-pages and contain original drawings.

The AscensionSufjan Stevens
01 Make Me An Offer I Cannot Refuse
02 Run Away With Me
03 Video Game
04 Lamentations
05 Tell Me You Love Me
06 Die Happy
07 Ativan
08 Ursa Major
09 Landslide
10 Gilgamesh
11 Death Star
12 Goodbye To All That
13 Sugar
14 The Ascension
15 America

By MARowe