Camera Obscura are a Scottish band that formed in 1996 but did not release an album until 2001. Theirs is a familiar but distinctive indie Pop sound that has yielded a respectable stream of singles that issued via 4AD and Elefant Records. Their last was issued in 2013 on 4AD. The band sporadically performed and began a new album in 2020, hampered by Covid. 

On May 3, a return to Merge Records will see the issue of Look To The East, Look To The West. The new album already has three singles out (“Liberty Print”, “We’re Going To Make It In A Man’s World”, “Big Love”) from its collection of eleven new songs. You can hear “Big Love” below.

Look To The East, Look To The West will be released on CD, DD, and four versions of LP that will include a Limited Edition pressing of Baby Blue and White Galaxy, Standard Black, Limited Edition Exclusive for Rough Trade that is Opaque Purple vinyl and that will include a bonus 5-track Look To The Demos CD inclusion, and Limited Edition Clear and Green Swirl vinyl Exclusive for Barnes & Noble. The CD will include a 16-page booklet with lyrics.

Look To The East, Look To The WestCamera Obscura
01 Liberty Print
02 We’re Going to Make It in a Man’s World
03 Big Love
04 Only a Dream
05 The Light Nights
06 Sleepwalking
07 Baby Huey (Hard Times)
08 Denon
09 Pop Goes Pop
10 Sugar Almond
11 Look to the East, Look to the West

By MARowe