As it has always been, Chicago is home to a wide and often exciting variety of bands. In today’s world, the dependency is on a smaller range of fans often dedicated to a band in an almost militant manner. Not that militant and dedicated fans haven’t always been there; they have. A band that has the rapt attention of fans is one known as Russian Circles.

Russian Circles is an exclusively instrumental band with a compelling body of music. Russian Circles have been around since the early 2000s and is now in their 15th year of existence. They have six incredible albums available, their last three with acclaimed label, Sargent House. Their last was Guidance, issued in 2016.

On August 2, Russian Circles returns with their latest effort, Blood Year. With seven new songs, this ambient post-metal band will give fans another dose of Chicago’s best musical offerings.

Blood Year will be issued on CD, DD, and vinyl LP. Russian Circles has begun a thorough World Tour in support of Blood Year that will complete on November 11 (St. Louis). See tour dates here.  Listen to the smoking new single (“Arluck”) from the album, below.  

Blood YearRussian Circles

01 Hunter Moon
02 Arluck
03 Milano
04 Kohokia
05 Ghost On Hight
06 Sinaia
07 Quartered

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.