The year of Maria Mauldaur‘s steamy Top 10 hit, “Midnight At The Oasis” was 1973. With that album branching near the absolute Top of the Billboard, it appeared that Maria Muldaur was poised to capture the world. Unfortunately, although she recorded songs at the same high level of talent and beauty, the public only saw fit to bless her with the ascension of only one album and one single. Regardless, Maria Muldaur released a massive string of albums (three for Reprise, two for Warner Records, and a large collection hat shared between Telarc, Myrrh, and a host of other independent labels).

One of the songs from the debut Reprise album that gave her gold is “Don’t You Feel My Leg (Don’t You Get Me High)”, a song written and performed by Jazz/Blues singer, “Blue Lu” Barker. The song itself was originally released in 1938. With its equally erotic delivery, the impact provided by Maria Muldaur was just as potent as the original.

On September 28, Maria Muldaur goes all out by revisiting “Don’t You Feel My Leg”, and eleven other Blue Lu Barker songs in a tribute album being called Don’t You Feel My Leg: The Naughty Bawdy Blues of Blue Lu Barker.

Don’t You Feel My Leg: The Naughty Bawdy Blues of Blue Lu Barker – Maria Muldaur

01. Georgia Grind
02. Leave My Man Alone
03. Loan Me Your Husband
04. Scat Skunk
05. Now You’re Down In The Alley
06. Here’s A Little Girl From Jacksonville
07. Nix On Those Lush Heads
08. Bow Legged Daddy
09. Trombone Man Blues
10. A Little Bird Told Me
11. Handy Andy
12. Don’t You Feel My Leg


By MARowe