For more than twenty years, the Finnish band, Nightwish, has helped to nurture the symphonic metal genre. Started in 1996, Nightwish has produced eight studio albums, the last being Endless Forms Most Beautiful in 2015. Their vocalists have been female since their inception. The first, Tarja Turunen stayed until 2005, where she left for a solo career given her magnificent vocal range. Today, the vocalist is Floor Jansen, whose vocal style is different and yet quite adaptive to multiple applications of style.

Nightwish has proven successful worldwide since their Dark Passion Play set from 2007 where they entered every chart available and the US chart for the first time.  Since, their music has become widely accepted with subsequent albums topping charts at higher and higher points.

On March 9, Nuclear Blast Records will release a 2CD compilation of twenty-two songs from the catalog of Nightwish. This collection is being called Decades: An Archive of Song (1996-2005). Decades will be released as 2CD (jewelcase), 2CD (digipak), a 2CD Earbook Box, DD, 3LP Limited Edition (500) Gold vinyl Box, 3LP Limited Edition (500) Silver vinyl Box, and a 3LP Black vinyl Box. The Digipak, Earbook Box, and Vinyl 3LP Boxes will follow on March 16.

Decades: An Archive of Song (1996-2005)Nightwish

01 – The Greatest Show On Earth
02 – Élan
03 – My Walden
04 – Storytime
05 – I Want My Tears Back
06 – Amaranth
07 – The Poet And The Pendulum
08 – Nemo
09 – Wish I Had An Angel

01 – Ghost Love Score
02 – Slaying The Dreamer
03 – End Of All Hope
04 – 10th Man Down
05 – The Kinslayer
06 – Dead Boy’s Poem
07 – Gethsemane
08 – Devil & The Deep Dark Ocean
09 – Sacrament Of Wilderness
10 – Sleeping Sun
11 – Elvenpath
12 – The Carpenter
13 – Nightwish (demo)


By MARowe