pretenders-aloneSince the debut of The Pretenders (1980), music fans have been treated to a series of not only great albums but also some durable songs that were released as singles. Certainly, songs like “Brass In Pocket (I’m Special)”, “My City Was Gone”, “Don’t Get Me Wrong”, “Back On The Chain Gang”, “Thin Line Between Love And Hate”, and others are easily remembered and equally cherished as some of the band’s great works, durable to this day! Unfortunately, The Pretenders had to contend with two shocking deaths (Pete Farndon, who had been let go almost a year earlier due to drug usage, and James Honeyman-Scott). But the band persevered and maintained a strong fanbase despite the early loss of half its band.

Their last studio album was in 2008 with the release of Break Up The Concrete. It was warmly received with good chart showing in both US and UK markets. But that was eight years ago, and was thought to be their last album ever.

On October 21, The Pretenders will return with a new album, Alone. My guess the title refers to the fact that it’s largely a Chrissie Hynde release. It doesn’t feature Martin Chambers, who doesn’t feature in the last album either. (Personally, I’d have went with Chrissie Hynde as the artist rather than The Pretenders as her name is as recognizable as the band name.)

Alone will contain twelve tracks and is produced by Dan Auerbach of The Black Keys. Alone will be released on CD, DD, and vinyl LP, all being issued by the ascendant BMG label, distributed via Warner Music. Hynde will tour this album on Stevie Nicks’ 24k tour. Watch for the single, “Holy Commotion” as its being released today (I can’t find the video to include here.)

Alone – The Pretenders

01 – Alone Song
02 – Roadie Man
03 – Gotta Wait
04 – Never Be Together
05 – Let’s Get Lost
06 – Chord Lord
07 – Blue Eyed Sky
08 – Be The Man That You Are
09 – One More Day
10 – I Hate Myself
11 – Death Is Not Enough
12 – Holy Commotion


By MARowe