Staple Singers A Family Journey

[UPDATE] As promised, I said I’d be back with a cover shot, and a track list. You now have all there is to know about a great set! In addition to the demos, alternate takes, original finished tracks, and live cuts over 80 tracks, there is a bonus 7″ single with two tracks. This two track single represents the earliest known recordings from the family. The booklet coming with the set will boast new liner notes including some from Mavis Staples. There will be plenty of great photos as well as an extensive listing of the tracks found within. [UPDATE]

If you hear the name Staples, and you start to hum a familiar tune, chances are you know exactly who The Staple Singers were. Although their roots extends farther back than the ’70s, it wasn’t until 1971 when “Respect Yourself” splashed all over the radio airwaves boosting the song to a healthy and impressive landing at number 12 on the charts. But that was bettered when the now-popular band released the soul-satisfying “I’ll Take You There” with the other-worldly vocal delivery of Mavis Staples. You knew, you just knew, you’ve heard R&B/Soul perfection! That song hung on the charts for many weeks.

Unfortunately for us, most of the components of The Staple Singers are no longer with us, having moved on to better things. Mavis Staples is left. And she can still belt it out of the park!.

On November 13, Stax Records will release a 5CD Box set, Faith And Grace: A Family Journey 1953-1976. It will plumb the depths of the wonder that belonged to the family, and was gifted to us in their many songs and albums. A Track-list can be seen below.

Faith And Grace: A Family Journey 1953-1976 – The Staple Singers
Track listing:


01. It Rained Children
02. I Just Can’t Keep It To Myself
03. Each Day
04. God’s Wonderful Love
05. If I Could Hear My Mother Pray Again
06. I’ve Got A New Home
07. Uncloudy Day
08. Come On Up In Glory
09. I Know I Got Religion
10. Swing Down Chariot (Let Me Ride)
11. I Had A Dream
12. Help Me Jesus
13. Low Is The Way
14. This May Be The Last Time [Alternate Take]
15. So Soon
16. I’m So Glad
17. Pray On
18. Good News
19. Downward Road
20. Don’t Drive Me Away


01. Will The Circle Be Unbroken
02. Don’t Knock
03. Medley: Too Close/I’m On My Way Home/I’m Coming Home/He’s Alright [Live]
04. Swing Low
05. Calling Me
06. Stand By Me
07. Hammer And Nails
08. Gloryland
09. Hear My Call, Here
10. Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen
11. New-Born Soul
12. Dying Man’s Plea
13. Great Day
14. There Was A Star
15. Use What You Got
16. Let That Liar Alone
17. I Can’t Help From Cryin’ Sometime
18. Blowin’ In The Wind
19. This Land Is Your Land
20. I Know I’ve Been Changed


01. A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall
02. Masters Of War
03. What Are They Doing (In Heaven Today)
04. Wish I Had Answered [Live At Newport]
05. I’ll Fly Away
06. Tell Him What You Want [Stapleton Singers]
07. Be Careful Of The Stones You Throw
08. Samson & Delilah
09. As An Eagle Stirreth Her Nest
10. Freedom Highway
11. Why (Am I Treated So Bad)
12. John Brown
13. Waiting For My Child
14. It’s Been A Change
15. For What It’s Worth
16. Let’s Get Together
17. Crying In The Chapel [Mavis Staples With The Staple Singers]
18. Long Walk To D.C.
19. Got To Be Some Changes
20. Slow Train


01. I See It
02. The Ghetto
03. When Will We Be Paid
04. God Bless The Children
05. The Challenge
06. Brand New Day [Theme From The Motion Picture The Landlord]
07. Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom Boom)
08. I Like The Things About You
09. You’re Gonna Make Me Cry
10. Respect Yourself
11. I’ll Take You There
12. This World
13. I’m Just Another Soldier
14. Are You Sure
15. If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me)
16. Touch A Hand, Make A Friend
17. Back Road Into Town
18. Let’s Do It Again
19. The Weight [The Band feat. Staple Singers]
20. Respect Yourself [Demo]

7″ vinyl single listing:
Side A
01. Faith and Grace
Side B
01. These Are They

The Staple Singers



By MARowe