Spandau Ballet The StoryIn the early ’80s, a UK band of art-rockers riding the New Romance/New Wave scene came to prominence. They were called Spandau Ballet. Spandau Ballet was fronted by Gary Kemp, joined by his younger brother, Martin Kemp, rounding out a fun band of five. With the release of their debut album on Chrysalis Records, Journeys To Glory caught fans of the New Romantic style’s fancy, and it was off to the races. Their first hit single, “To Cut A Long Story Short”, helped to propel Journeys To glory to its status as one to listen to.

Over the years, Spandau Ballet released a series of good albums, some with great chart ascension. Their second album, Diamond, which closely followed their debut release date at 1982, provided “Chant No, 1 (I Don’t Need This Pressure On)” to their growing selections of UK and US hits that also offered “Instinction” (from the same Diamond album); “Gold”, “Lifeline”, “True”, and “Communication” from their True (1983) classic; “Only When You Leave” from Parade (1984); and “Fight For Ourselves”, “Through The Barricades”, “How Many Lies” from Through The Barricades (1986).

The band could not maintain the forward momentum, and soon ignored music. It didn’t help that the Kemps were finding steady work in film either. Since, they have returned to release Once More in 2009, an album with re-recorded versions of their earlier hits.

On October 14, Rhino and Parlophone will release The Very Best Of Spandau Ballet: The Story, with a collection of 19 of their best tracks (see track-list below). Some of these tracks will offer the 2010 remastered versions, while others will offer the somewhat dated 2003 remastered tracks. In addition, The Story will offer three brand new songs (“This Is The Love” (the album’s single to promote it, and the band), “Steal”, and “Soul Boy”).
The Very Best Of Spandau Ballet: The Story

01 To Cut a Long Story Short (2010 Remastered Version)
02 The Freeze (7” Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
03 Musclebound (7” Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
04 Chant No 1 (I Don’t Need This Pressure On) [2010 Remastered Version]
05 Instinction (2010 Remastered Version)
06 Lifeline (2003 Remastered Version)
07 Communication (2003 Remastered Version)
08 True
09 Gold
10 Only When You Leave (2010 Remastered Version)
11 I’ll Fly for You (2010 Remastered Version)
12 Highly Strung (2010 Remastered Version)
13 Round And Round (Single Version) [2010 Remastered Version]
14 Fight for Ourselves
15 Through the Barricades
16 Once More
17 This Is The Love
18 Steal
19 Soul Boy


By MARowe

One thought on “The Very Best Of Spandau Ballet: The Story Is Set For October”

Comments are closed.