UnknownOkay, brace yourselves. A poster over at the Hoffman Forum came upon the find of the day today. Available for pre-order over at Amazon is Bob DylanAnother Self Portrait (1969-1971): The Bootleg Series Vol. 10 Deluxe Edition on Columbia/Legacy and due out August 27.

There will be a standard 2-CD edition. But it’s the Deluxe Edition that’ll be grabbing attention. It will contain the following:

-4-CDs plus 2 hardcover books.

-Book 1 will contain the CDs and the liner notes

-Book 2 will contain photos from John Cohen and Al Clayton

-the extra bonus CDs beyond the standard edition will contain a newly remastered Self Portrait and the complete 17 song 1969 Isle Of Wight performance with The Band.


A promo video for the sets that is running over at YouTube says there will be unreleased tracks on Dylan with George Harrison as well.

This will be one of the true highlight box sets of the year. I’m just surprised that this wasn’t slated for release until deep into the 4th Quarter. I am beginning to wonder if some major name box sets are going to be released ahead of the Led Zeppelin individual album box ?


The Bootleg Series, Vol. 10 – Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)

Disc One:

1 Went To See The Gypsy (demo)
2 In Search Of Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
3 Pretty Saro (unreleased, Self Portrait)
4 Alberta #3 (alternate version, Self Portrait)
5 Spanish Is The Loving Tongue (unreleased, Self Portrait)
6 Annie’s Going To Sing Her Song (unreleased, Self Portrait)
7 Time Passes Slowly #1 (alternate version, New Morning)
8 Only A Hobo (unreleased, Greatest Hits II)
9 Minstrel Boy (unreleased, The Basement Tapes)
10 I Threw It All Away (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
11 Railroad Bill (unreleased, Self Portrait)
12 Thirsty Boots (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 This Evening So Soon (unreleased, Self Portrait)
14 These Hands (unreleased, Self Portrait)
15 Little Sadie (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
16 House Carpenter (unreleased, Self Portrait)
17 All The Tired Horses (without overdubs, Self Portrait)

Disc Two:

1 If Not For You (alternate version, New Morning)
2 Wallflower (alternate version, 1971)
3 Wigwam (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
4 Days Of ’49 (original version without overdubs, Self Portrait)
5 Working On A Guru (unreleased, New Morning)
6 Country Pie (alternate version, Nashville Skyline)
7 I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
8 Highway 61 Revisited (Live With The Band, Isle Of Wight 1969)
9 Copper Kettle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
10 Bring Me A Little Water (unreleased, New Morning)
11 Sign On The Window (with orchestral overdubs, New Morning)
12 Tattle O’Day (unreleased, Self Portrait)
13 If Dogs Run Free (alternate version, New Morning)
14 New Morning (with horn section overdubs, New Morning)
15 Went To See The Gypsy (alternate version, New Morning)
16 Belle Isle (without overdubs, Self Portrait)
17 Time Passes Slowly #2 (alternate version, New Morning)
18 When I Paint My Masterpiece (demo)

Bob Dylan & The Band
(Isle of Wight – August 31, 1969)

1 She Belongs To Me
2 I Threw It All Away
3 Maggie’s Farm
4 Wild Mountain Thyme
5 It Ain’t Me, Babe
6 To Ramona/ Mr. Tambourine Man
7 I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine
8 Lay Lady Lay
9 Highway 61 Revisited
10 One Too Many Mornings
11 I Pity The Poor Immigrant
12 Like A Rolling Stone
13 I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
14 Quinn The Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn)
15 Minstrel Boy
16 Rainy Day Women #12 & 35

By MARowe

4 thoughts on “Talia’s Overflow Notes Breaking!: Bob Dylan’s Another Self Portrait (1969-1971)”
  1. “Ahead of those Zeppelin remasters”? Damn you’re forever the optimist.

    I am treating those Zep remasters as I would a politician’s campaign promise… I’ll get excited when there is a preorder on Amazon or at least a date from an official source.

  2. Wowsa wowsa – There are now details on the Bob Dylan Web Site – pleased there will be a vinyl issue but it looks like the IoW Live set will be CD only – so if you want Vinyl and the IoW you will get 2 copies on the plain Jane Vol10.

  3. I wanted to let all of you that the new print edition of Rolling Stone Magazine (which arrived in my mail today 7/16/13/) is reporting a source within the Dylan camp as saying there will be future Bootleg Series editions for Blonde On Blonde, Blood On The Tracks and The Basement Tapes.

  4. Years ago I secured a bootleg (5 cd set) of the Basement tapes, so I know that there is plenty of material out there. Also there is a boot floating around of the original recordings of Blood on the Tracks. Should be fun.

Comments are closed.