Joni Mitchell has long been out of the public eye since her 2015 aneurysm that left her in a bad way. However, she re-emerged at the 2022 Newport Folk Festival to surprise an audience with 11 of her better known songs. With that, it’s no surprise – no surprise at all – that the show was captured and is planned for release.

On July 28, Rhino Entertainment will release Joni Mitchell At Newport. It will include 12 tracks, with track one being an introduction by Brandi Carlile. The album will join the endearing collection of Mitchell’s vast library of recorded songs and performances. One of those songs is currently available on YouTube as a single from the album. It’s “Both Sides Now” and can be enjoyed below. An essay by Cameron Crowe is included in the booklet. I expect that a BD will arrive soon.

Joni Mitchell At Newport will be released on CD, DD, and two vinyl editions that include standard black 2LP, as well as an indie / Barnes & Noble exclusive of clear 2LP vinyl.  

Joni Mitchell At NewportJoni Mitchell
01 Introduction by Brandi Carlile
02 Big Yellow Taxi
03 A Case of You
04 Amelia
05 Both Sides Now
06 Just Like This Train
07 Summertime
08 Carey
09 Help Me
10 Come In From The Cold
11 Shine
12 The Circle Game

By MARowe