In 1985, Loreena McKennitt released her first album, Elemental. But it wasn’t until her 4th album, The Visit, when her fame accelerated in her native Canada, and in the US (which earned her a Gold record in the US, multi-platinum in Canada). The Visit was released in 1991 and would become her memorable set. She would go on for some years with best-selling albums – The Mask And The Mirror (1994), The Book Of Secrets (1997), and An Ancient Muse (2006) before wide-spread interest began to wane for the masses. But not for the dedicated fans! They continue to hold on to every release after The Visit.


On September 24, Quinlan Road will revisit the classic The Visit with a 30th Anniversary Definitive Edition that comprises 4CDs filled with the original album (a 2004 remaster), two archival performances, an interview and a roundtable discussion, a binaural headphones mix of the album, and a soundboard of a previously unreleased live 2016 performance. A BD-Audio disc is included with a Dolby Atmos mix, a 5.1 Surround mix, and a hi-resolution Stereo mix of The Visit.

The 4CD/BD Box will add in a 32-page book, and a signed 5″ x 7″ postcard (if pre-ordered), 

The Visit will also be released on 180g-weight vinyl LP featuring the original content.

The Visit (30th Anniversary Definitive Edition 1991-2021)Loreena McKennitt

CD1 (Original Album – 2004 remaster)
01 All Souls Night
02 Bonny Portmore
03 Between The Shadows (Persian Shadows)
04 The Lady Of Shalott
05 Greensleeves
06 Tango To Evora
07 Courtyard Lullaby
08 The Old Ways
09 Cymbeline 

CD2 (Archival Performances)
01 The CBC – 1992
02 NPR’s World Cafe – 1992

01 Interview With Tim Wilson – 1991
02 Roundtable Discussion with Loreena and Colleagues – 2020 – Previously Unreleased

01-09 Binaural Headphone Mix of Original Album
10 Previously Unreleased Live Soundboard Recording – 2016

01-09 Dolby Atmos Mix
10-18 Hi Resolution 5.1 Surround Sound Mix
19-27 Hi Resolution Stereo Mix 

By MARowe