If you’re familiar with the punk band, Cupcake Ductape, and the after affairs of Esther Grey, and now Cots, you are aware of the music of Steph Yates. Her contributions to her changing world leading to the now exotic swish of Cots is not subtle but powerful and deep. Cots‘ recent release of their first single from their upcoming debut album, Disturbing Body talks about death in a meditative and poetic way. (You can hear that single, “Flowers”, below as well as the new single of “Our Breath”.) Steph Yates is an artist from Montréal, Québec.

On August 11, Boiled Records will release the indie set, Disturbing Body by Cots. The new album will feature a collection of 10 jazz and folk-styled songs, some with a hypnotic and hip bossa nova delivery (like in “Flowers”). Much of the music from Cots are reflective and melancholic pieces with the music to accentuate that mood.

Disturbing Body will issue on DD and vinyl LP. The vinyl LP is cut at 45RPM, pressed on standard-weight black vinyl and will be limited to 200 copies in the first pressing. The LP will contain a handmade lyric booklet. It will ship out around the 1st of October.

Disturbing BodyCots
01 Disturbing Body
02 Bitter Part of the Fruit
03 Sun-Spotted Apple
04 Bluebird
05 Inertia of a Dream
06 Flowers
07 Salt or Sand
08 Our Breath
09 Last Sip
10 Midnight at the Station

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.