George Harrison. That’s really all I have to say. Like other members of The Beatles, there is not a thing left unsaid about any of them. Over the past 6 months, speculation and anticipation has hit a high with the upcoming 50th Anniversary set for All Things Must Pass, the already expansive 1970 3LP box that was the third solo effort for George Harrison. From that set launched the well-known “My Sweet Lord” single. Over all, All Things Must Pass showcased the best of George Harrison with 23 tracks. With Paul McCartney and John Lennon albums being given great audio updates, it stands to reason that the George Harrison estate concentrate on Harrison classics.

A MASSIVE All Things Must Pass Uber Box is scheduled for an August 6 release date. This UBER set retails at nearly $1000 USD and will provide the 8LP and the 5CD and BD collection. Of course, there are multiple configurations that include not only 8LP Deluxe, and 5CD/BD Deluxe Box sets but also 2CD, 3CD, and 2LP, 3LP editions. Here’s what graces the Uber Box:

The box will provide two separate books, one a 96-page book with photos, notes, essays, handwritten lyrics, memorabilia, and a track-by-track set of notes. The second book is a 44-page chronicle of the album.

A wooden book mark is packed in crafted from a fallen oak tree located in George’s Friar Park. There will be three figurines created to replicate George and the gnomes from the album cover. A limited edition illustration from Klaus Voorman will be inserted.

Given George Harrison‘s spiritual undertaking and adherence, a copy of Light From the Great One written by Paramahansa Yogananda, an Indian Hindu monk who was instrumental in the progression of meditation throughout the world. Inside the box will be Rudraksha beads, a meditative force designed to create calm.

The box is completed with a replica poster of the original album poster.

For music, the Uber box will contain 70 tracks complete, 47 of which are demo recordings, session outtakes, and recorded studio jams. Of the 47 extra tracks, 42 of them are previously unreleased. For the 5CD/BD box, the Blu-ray will contain fresh mixes of hi-resolution Stereo, 5.1 Surround, and Dolby Atmos of All Things Must Pass. The box itself is a wooden crate measuring 12.4″ x 12.4″ x 17.5″. The original album has been newly remixed by Paul Hicks and supervised by Dhani Harrison.

The 8LP set will feature 180g-weight vinyl, and will include a 60-page book. A replica of the original album poster is packed in. The Deluxe 5CD/BD edition adds a 56-page scrapbook as well as the replica poster from the original album. The 5LP Deluxe box will feature 180g-weight vinyl and include an 8-page photo and notes insert. A 3LP box with an 8-page insert and poster, and a 3LP Box with color vinyl (green and black splatter) with insert and poster are available.

For CD packages, there are the 3CD Deluxe Edition packed into a square box with a 20-page booklet and a smaller replica of the original album poster. A 2CD Edition will feature a poster with notes on the back of the poster. It is stored in a digipak. For all things All Things Must Pass, go to this link.

The 2020 mix from this package of “All Things Must Pass” can be heard below. Also, the promo video for this 50th Anniversary set is below.

All Things Must Pass (Uber Box – 50th Anniversary) – George Harrison

CD1 (Original Album)
01 I’d Have You Anytime
02 My Sweet Lord
03 Wah-Wah
04 Isn’t It A Pity (Version One)
05 What Is Life
06 If Not For You
07 Behind That Locked Door
08 Let It Down
09 Run Of The Mill

CD2 (Original Album)
01 Beware Of Darkness
02 Apple Scruffs
03 Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
04 Awaiting On You All
05 All Things Must Pass
06 I Dig Love
07 Art Of Dying
08 Isn’t It A Pity (Version Two)
09 Hear Me Lord
10 Out Of The Blue 
11 It’s Johnny’s Birthday 
12 Plug Me In 
13 I Remember Jeep 
14 Thanks For The Pepperoni

CD3 (Day One Demos – May 26, 1970)
01 All Things Must Pass (Take 1) 
02 Behind That Locked Door (Take 2)
03 I Live For You (Take 1)
04 Apple Scruffs (Take 1)
05 What Is Life (Take 3)
06 Awaiting On You All (Take 1) 
07 Isn’t It A Pity (Take 2)
08 I’d Have You Anytime (Take 1)
09 I Dig Love (Take 1)
10 Going Down To Golders Green (Take 1)
11 Dehra Dun (Take 2)
12 Om Hare Om (Gopala Krishna) (Take 1)
13 Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll) (Take 2)
14 My Sweet Lord (Take 1) 
15 Sour Milk Sea (Take 1)

CD4 (Day 2 Demos – May 27, 1970)
01 Run Of The Mill (Take 1) 
02 Art Of Dying (Take 1)
03 Everybody/Nobody (Take 1)
04 Wah-Wah (Take 1)
05 Window Window (Take 1)
06 Beautiful Girl (Take 1)
07 Beware Of Darkness (Take 1)
08 Let It Down (Take 1)
09 Tell Me What Has Happened To You (Take 1)
10 Hear Me Lord (Take 1)
11 Nowhere To Go (Take 1)
12 Cosmic Empire (Take 1)
13 Mother Divine (Take 1)
14 I Don’t Want To Do It (Take 1)
15 If Not For You (Take 1)

CD5 (Session Outtakes and Jams)
01 Isn’t It A Pity (Take 14)
02 Wah-Wah (Take 1)
03 I’d Have You Anytime (Take 5)
04Art Of Dying (Take 1)
05 Isn’t It A Pity (Take 27)
06 If Not For You (Take 2)
07 Wedding Bells (Are Breaking Up That Old Gang Of Mine) (Take 1)
08 What Is Life (Take 1)
09 Beware Of Darkness (Take 8)
10 Hear Me Lord (Take 5)
11 Let It Down (Take 1)
12 Run Of The Mill (Take 36)
13 Down To the River (Rocking Chair Jam) (Take 1)
14 Get Back (Take 1)
15 Almost 12 Bar Honky Tonk (Take 1)
16 It’s Johnny’s Birthday (Take 1)
17 Woman Don’t You Cry For Me (Take 5)

BD (Original Album presented in Hi-resolution Stereo, 5.1 Surround, and Dolby Atmos
01 I’d Have You Anytime
02 My Sweet Lord
03 Wah-Wah
04 Isn’t It A Pity (Version 1)
05 What Is Life
06 If Not For You
07 Behind That Locked Door
08 Let It Down
09 Run Of The Mill
10 Beware Of Darkness
11 Apple Scruffs
12 Ballad Of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)
13 Awaiting On You All
14 All Things Must Pass
15 I Dig Love
16 Art Of Dying
17 Isn’t It A Pity (Version 2)
18 Hear Me Lord
19 Out Of The Blue
20 It’s Johnny’s Birthday
21 Plug Me In
22 I Remember Jeep
23 Thanks For The Pepperoni

(A special shout out to Steve Talia for his alert and to Steve Hoffman’s Music Forums for the information.)

By MARowe

4 thoughts on “George Harrison Classic, All Things Must Pass, To Receive 50th Anniversary Uber Box Sets – 8LP and 5CD/BD”
  1. Why not a back-to-basics remix without the bloody Spector muddiness plastered over everything?

    1. Because, for as much as many people want the Spector mixes gone, there are as many who would be outraged about it. Even Giles Martin faced headwinds over the stereo remixes for Sgt. Pepper & White Album.

Comments are closed.