Peter Hammill, once guitarist extraordinaire in Van der Graaf Generator (progressive German band from the late ’60s), and then a prolific solo artist with more than 35 albums (not including by Van der Graaf Generator) to his credit. He has become a respected experimental guitarist and pianist throughout his career as well as being a singer/songwriter. There are classical and jazz influences heard within his body of music. His fan base is a devoted one.

On May 7,  Peter Hammill will release an album of covers created and recorded during the now known “lockdown” effect for recording artists. This new album of songs is being called In Translation. It will deliver the artist’s first foray into cover work. Within In Translation, Peter Hammill will explore and re-interpret music from Mahler, the popular songwriting duo of Rogers & Hammerstein, a flurry of important Italian composers, and others.

In Translation will be released on CD, DD, with vinyl Lp following shortly thereafter.

In TranslationPeter Hammill
01 The Folks Who Live On The Hill (Kern/Hammerstein)
02 Hotel Supramonte (Fabrizio De André)
03 Oblivion (Astor Piazzola)
04 Ciao Amore (Luigi Tenco)
05 This Nearly Was Mine (Rogers & Hammerstein – South Pacific)
06 After A Dream (Gabriel Fauré)
07 Ballad For My Death (Astor Piazzola)
08 I Who Have Nothing (Carlo Donida/Giulio “Mogol” Repetti, translated by Lieber & Stoller)
09 II Vino (Piero Ciampi)
10 Lost To The World (Gustav Mahler)

By MARowe

2 thoughts on “Peter Hammill To Release Covers Album, In Translation”
  1. I have been a fan of PH and VDGG for decades. I first heard them on Pawn Hearts at the time of its release in 1971. I was fortunate to see PH perform solo circa 1979. He played acoustic guitar and piano and had only minor accompaniment from Graham Smith on violin. I am looking forward to this release and I hope it is successful for him. He is still a musical force.

Comments are closed.