One of the classic but underappreciated bands of the late ’60s, early ’70s were Mott The Hoople. At one time, the band felt that enough was enough and set into motion an untimely end. History says that Bowie intervened and gave the band “All The Young Dudes”, which they turned into a hit, one which continues to stay synonymous with Mott. Several albums and a live set later, the band gave it up anyway. But for a sizeable Mott fanbase, the band and Ian Hunter can do little wrong. Ian Hunter continued on with 21 solo efforts and better popularity.

On January 8, Crimson Productions (Demon Music Group UK) employ their popular Gold series title for a 3CD  Mott the Hoople/Ian Hunter retrospective reflecting on 50 tracks drawn from the Mott Columbia releases (their first four albums (Mott The Hoople – 1969, Mad Shadows – 1970, Wildlife – 1971, Brain Capers – 1971) were Atlantic (US), and Island (UK), and from the first seven Ian Hunter sets. The actual title is Ian Hunter & Mott The Hoople – Gold.

All of the charting UK/US singles are here, sixteen of ’em. A booklet is included with a written introduction, and plenty of other kinds of goodness. The price is quite reasonable at $11.99 USD.

GoldIan Hunter & Mott The Hoople

01 All the Young Dudes
02 One of the Boys
03 Momma’s Little Jewel
04 Sweet Jane
05 Jerkin’ Crocus
06 Sea Diver
07 Honaloochie Boogie
08 Rose
09 Drivin’ Sister
10 All the Way from Memphis
11 Ballad of Mott the Hoople (26th March 1972, Zurich)
12 Hymn for the Dudes
13 Whizz Kid
14 Violence
15 I Wish I Was Your Mother
16 Roll Away the Stone
17 Where Do You All Come From

01 The Golden Age of Rock ‘N’ Roll
02 Rest in Peace
03 Alice
04 Crash Street Kidds
05 Marionette
06 Pearl ‘N’ Roy (England)
07 Foxy, Foxy
08 Trudi’s Song
09 Saturday Gigs
10 Once Bitten Twice Shy
11 3,000 Miles from Here
12 Lounge Lizard
13 It Ain’t Easy When You Fall/Shades Off
14 The Truth, the Whole Truth, Nuthin’ But the Truth
15 Who Do You Love
16 I Get So Excited

01 All-American Alien Boy
02 God (Take One)
03 You Nearly Did Me In
04 Letter to Britannia from the Union Jack
05 Irene Wilde
06 Apathy ‘83
07 Justice of the Peace
08 (Miss) Silver Dime
09 Shallow Crystals
10 Broadway
11 Overnight Angels
12 England Rocks
13 Wild N’ Free
14 All of the Good Ones are Taken
15 Death ‘N’ Glory Boys
16 Traitor
17 Seeing Double

By MARowe