Re-recorded songs by original artists, especially those songs that are VERY familiar to fans, have a middling track record. Sometimes they actually improve on the original in ways that allow them to stand alone. (As a case in point, Joni Mitchell’s 2000 reintroduction of “Both Sides Now” with incredible orchestral sound, thus vibrantly renewing the classic 1969 original.) But often enough, re-recorded popular songs can become vastly ignored due to the different sound usually applied.

On May 24, Sting (of Police/Solo fame) will release a new album of fifteen re-recorded (and in some cases, remixed from original tracks). The intent was to recreate the songs giving them a new modern blend that would serve to revitalize them for today’s world of music. The new album is being titled My Songs. (Listen to the remixed “Desert Rose” below.)

My Songs is being released on CD, Deluxe Edition CD (with five live tracks included), DD, and a 2LP set (to be issued on June 7).

My SongsSting

01 Brand New Day
02 Desert Rose
03 If You Love Somebody Set Them Free
04 Every Breath You Take
05 Demolition Man
06 Can’t Stand Losing You
07 Fields Of Gold
08 So Lonely
09 Shape Of My Heart
10 Message In A Bottle
11 Fragile
12 Walking On The Moon
13 Englishman In New York
14 If I Ever Lose My Faith In You
Bonus Tracks for Deluxe Edition CD
15 Roxanne (Live)
16 Synchronicity II (Live)
17 Next To You (Live)
18 Spirits In The Material World (Live)
19.Fragile (Live)

By MARowe