Decades ago, when vinyl reigned completely unchallenged, Warner Brothers Records often offered a ‘LOSS LEADER‘ collection LP set on the paper sleeves of the vinyl albums they sold. You’d find specifically themed promotional albums at less than retail costs with a choice selection of current tracks on albums that surely should be collectors’ items by now.  The Force (1975) provided 23 songs that ranged from popular tracks to lesser known ones; all were designed to sell more albums. And they were always fun. The appropriately titled Appetizers (1973) was another one.

On December 7, Warner Brothers Records jumps into the nostalgia pool to release a celebration 2LP vinyl set with a representative collection of tracks from back in the ’70s, ’80s, and ’90s. This vinyl set will bring together 20 songs that were no doubt featured on other such collections from ‘back in the day’. Nevertheless, it’s nice to get a boat ride of memorable songs from the label that delivered them so well in the ’70s on those promo albums. This 2LP collection will be called Fire In The Sky: Rockin’ On. Check below for the track list.

Kudos to the individual in the meeting at WBR that suggested this ‘blast from the past’.

Fire In The Sky: Rockin’ On (Celebrating 60 Years Of Warner Bros. RecordsVarious Artists

Side One:
01 Truckin’ – Grateful Dead
02 Smoke On The Water – Deep Purple
03 School’s Out – Alice Cooper
04 Slow Ride – Foghat
05 Aqualung – Jethro Tull
Side Two:
01 China Grove – The Doobie Brothers
02 Gimme All Your Lovin’ – ZZ Top
03 Stay With Me – Faces
04 Hot For Teacher – Van Halen
05 Rock Candy – Montrose

Side Three:
01 Forever Man – Eric Clapton
02 Dixie Chicken – Little Feat
03 Up On Cripple Creek (Live) – The Band
04 Dream Weaver – Gary Wright
05 Hello It’s Me – Todd Rundgren
Side Four:
01 Little Red Corvette – Prince
02 Crazy – Seal
03 Back On The Chain Gang – The Pretenders
04 Say You Love Me – Fleetwood Mac
05 You Wreck Me – Tom Petty



By MARowe