With the release of the Acoustic Simple Minds album issued in 2016, I’m on high alert to anything else by them. That album delivered a new shine to what were already great songs. It’s almost never pretty to have an artist revisit their classic material in new recordings. But that is not always true as some have not only produced beautiful and memorable revisits, but also some have revitalized the import of songs. A prime example of that is Joni Mitchell’s introspective turning of “Both Sides Now”, re-recorded in 2000 as a new viewpoint.  Simple Minds’ Acoustic album is likewise a goldmine of newness.

On June 16, Eagle Rock Entertainment will release Acoustic In Concert. This new live set will feature sixteen performance tracks that include songs like “See The Lights”, “New Gold Dream (”, “Someone, Somewhere, In Summertime”, “Sanctify Yourself”, and “Don’t You (Forget About Me)”.  The set was recorded from their November 10, 2016 Hackney Empire (London) show for the ongoing BBC Radio 2 In Concert series. Simple Minds continues their Acoustic concert tour with a large string of Europe dates.

Acoustic In Concert is expected to be released on CD/DVD and DD.

Acoustic In ConcertSimple Minds

01 New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84)
02 See The Lights
03 Glittering Prize
04 Stand By Love
05 Waterfront
06 Andy Warhol
07 Chelsea Girl
08 Someone Somewhere In Summertime
09 Dancing Barefoot
10 Speed Your Love To Me
11 Promised You A Miracle
12 Don’t You (Forget About Me)
13 Sanctify Yourself
14 Long Black Train
15 Alive And Kicking
16 Make Me Smile (Come Up And See Me)


By MARowe