In addition to releasing classic albums in the SACD format that some aficionados love, Audio Fidelity has figured out a new and exciting road to travel on.  Big Hits on SACDs. That’s right.

On June 3, Audio Fidelity will release the Legends SACD series, which will collect many top name Top20 hits and assemble them into one ready for play (turn it up LOUD) set. their first is Legends: Get It On, which will make sonic adventure with songs by Grateful Dead, T. Rex (how about Tanx, Electric Warrior, and Slider on SACD?), The Kinks, Alice Cooper, Foghat, The Doobie Brothers, and others. the Get It On SACD will deliver:

1. Wild Thing (The Troggs)
2. Smoke On the Water (Deep Purple)
3. Spirit In the Sky (Norman Greenbaum)
4. Bang A Gong.. Get it On (T.Rex)
5. Go Your Own Way (Fleetwood Mac)
6. Blinded By the Light (Manfred Mann’s Earth Band)
7. Spill The Wine (Eric Burdon & War)
8. Lola..Live (The Kinks)
9. Light My Fire (The Doors)
10. Slow Ride (Foghat)
11. Schools Out (Alice Cooper)
12. Smokin In the Boys Room (Brownsville Station)
13. China Grove (The Doobie Brothers)
14. Hot Blooded (Foreigner)
15. Can’t Get Enough (Bad Company)
16. Free Bird (Lynyrd Skynyrd)
17. Casey Jones (Grateful Dead)

Legends Get It On

But wait! Yeah, there is another.  The Legend series will add Crank It Up with another wicked batch of loved songs from artists like The Doobie Brothers, Chicago, Ace, The Pretenders, Foreigner, and America. It will boast:

1. Does Anybody Really Know (Chicago)
2. Listen To The Music (The Doobie Brothers)
3. Good Lovin (The Rascals)
4. Tonight’s The Night (Rod Stewart)
5. Running On Empty (Jackson Browne)
6. In the Air Tonight (Phil Collins)
7. Time of the Season (The Zombies)
8. How Long (Ace)
9. Dixie Chicken (Little Feat)
10. Truckin (Grateful Dead)
11. Love the One You’re With (Stephen Stills)
12. For What It’s Worth (Buffalo Springfield)
13. Sister Golden Hair (America)
14. Back on the Chain Gang (The Pretenders)
15. Feels Like the First Time (Foreigner)
16. Daniel (Elton John)
17. Nights In White Satin (The Moody Blues)

LegendsCrank It Up

I’m reasonably sure the Legends series will grow. But with 34 SACD tracks of great songs soon available, well, I’m guessing we’ll be listening to these for a while!

By MARowe

4 thoughts on “Audio Fidelity to Release New Legends Series On SACD”
  1. These are actually reissues of Time-Life titles. As I understand it, Time-Life is contracting Audio Fidelity to produce these. There are a few tracks missing, but these contain the full album versions. All tracks were mastered for these SACDs by Steve Hoffman.

  2. I was wondering when you’d mention these they’ve been on the AF website for over a week. I think this is a great idea as long as the quality is up to snuff. Can’t wait for more.

    Thanks for the “full album version” info. I was wondering about that. I hate edits.

  3. Didn’t know how to feel about this. I have a LOT of SACD’s that I bought (in the day) were not up to snuff sonically (Toto IV or Boston’s debut anyone?) Until I read Gallery’s post that Steve Hoffman mastered these tracks. Now I feel like we are in safe hands.

Comments are closed.