The Beacon Theater has been a favored hangout spot for The Allman Brothers Band for quite a long, long time.  Every year, the band returns to play an extended set of live shows for its many, many fans of southern rock.  And they never seem to disappoint the throngs as they fill the seats and aisles for the sets.

On February 18, Legacy Recordings will issue a 2CD set of their extended run at the theater from back in 1992, which saw ten shows.  This set will feature sixteen performance tracks that include such classics like “Whipping Post”, “Jessica”, “Statesboro Blues”, and “Midnight Rider” from several of those shows (March 10 and 11, 1992).

Allman Bros Play All Night

The album is called Play All Night: Live At The Beacon Theater 1992 and features Allen Woody (bass), Marc Quinones (percussion), and Warren Haynes (guitar), the new hired guns for the band.

Since 1992, the band has returned every year for its residency.  One can only speculate about the brilliance of the many recorded soundboards for any of those years aside from the historical impact of 1992. Guess we’ll have to wait for those in time.

The track-list is:

Disc: 1

1. Statesboro Blues
2. You Don’t Love Me
3. End Of The Line
4. Blue Sky
5. Nobody Knows
6. Low Down Dirty Mean
7. Seven Turns
8. Midnight Rider
9. Come On In My Kitchen
Disc: 2
1. Guitar Intro / Hoochie Coochie Man
2. Jessica
3. Get On With Your Life
4. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
5. Revival
6. Dreams
7. Whipping Post

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.