For those that revere the works of Velvet Underground and the solo works of VU‘s architects, then this bit of news is a piece of good news. After the issue of 22 satisfying sets, John Cale has announced his intention to release a brand new album.

On June 14, Domino Recordings will release number 23 to be known as POPtical Illusion. This new set will contain 13 new John Cale compositions including the recently released single, “How We See The Light”. That song can be heard below.

POPtical Illusion will be released on CD, DD, a standard black vinyl 2LP, and a Limited Edition of 1000 copies of 1 Pink and 1Mint-colored vinyl 2LP. Both 2LP sets will provide access to an extra tracks and an alternate version of one of the songs on the album. The 2LP Limited Edition will up the ante with a 7″ vinyl press containing two exclusive tracks – “Beethoven In The West”, and “News Of Nicholas”. Pre-order all here.

POPtical IllusionJohn Cale
01 God Made Me Do It (don’t ask me again)
02 Davies and Wales
03 Calling You Out
04 Edge of Reason
05 I’m Angry
06 How We See The Light
07 Company Commander
08 Setting Fires
09 Shark-Shark
10 Funkball the Brewster
11 All To The Good
12 Laughing In My Sleep
13 There Will Be No River

By MARowe