Van der Graff Generator entered the workforce in 1969 with their debut set, The Aerosol Grey Machine. That album helped to firm up the progressive style being introduced throughout the European continent after Peter Hammill helped to start the band back in 1967. While the band did not enjoy the kind of meteoric interest that other bands enjoyed, they nonetheless gained a solid following that exists to this day. Over the years, from 1969 through 2016, and with various personnel, they released 13 studio classics. They also have 8 live sets in release including their first set – Vital – Live, which was released in 1978 via Charisma (the band’s first label).

On March 29, Esoteric Recordings (Cherry Red UK) will revisit Vital with a 2CD set that is newly remastered from the original master tapes. Vital will feature all of the album’s tracks recorded from their January 16, 1978 show at London’s Marquee Club. For this set, Esoteric will provide the restored artwork and will fill the booklet with new notes, essays, and interview segments with the band. It was released under Van der Graff after the band truncated their name for a new era. After its original release in 1978, the band broke up due to financial problems.

Vital – Live (remastered) will be released on 2CD and DD.

Vital – Live (2024 Remaster) – Van der Graff

01 Ship of Fools
02 Still Life
03 Last Frame
04 Mirror Images
05 Medley: A Plague of Lighthouse Keepers /The Sleepwalkers

01 Pioneers Over C
02 Sci-Finance
03 Door
04 Urban / Killer / Urban
05 Nadir’s Big Chance

By MARowe