Neil Diamond found his stage in the ’60s, and proliferated in his talented releases through the ’80s and into the ’90s. With over 30 albums including popular live sets and Christmas offerings, his work has been celebrated in film, on stage, and on a myriad of ‘best of’ collections. During his prolific periods, he generated more than 70 singles, many in the high chart ranges of Top10. There were many others that bubbled within the spacing of the Top40 but never elevated over a mark. Nevertheless, to say that Neil Diamond is a legend is an understatement, it seems. 

On January 19, Mercury Studios (UMe) will reissue a DVD that has been out of print for some time – The Thank You Australia Concert Live 1976. Filmed in Australia at the Sydney Sports Ground, and broadcast live to a record audience, this March 9, 1976 show featured a collection of well-known tracks, 21 in all. They reach back and move forward to his then current set, Serenade, from 1974. 

The Thank You Australia Concert Live 1976 will issue solely on DVD. It does not include “Morningside” from the show, which was originally sandwiched between “Longfellow Serenade” and “Song Sung Blue” for some reason.

Thank You Australia Concert Live 1976Neil Diamond
01 Missa
02 Soolaimon
03 Play Me
04 Solitary Man
05 Cherry Cherry
06 Sweet Caroline
07 The Last Picasso
08 Longfellow Serenade
09 Song Sung Blue
10 Cracklin’ Rosie
11 Holly Holy
12 I Am…I Said
13 Anthem
14 Be
15 Dear Father
16 Skybird
17 Lonely Looking Sky
18 Anthem (reprise)
19 Be (reprise)
Encore 2
20 Brother Love’s Travelling Salvation Show
Encore 3
21 I’ve Been This Way Before

By MARowe