In 1973, The Who released their magnificent sixth album, Quadrophenia. The second in line (third, actually, but we’re not talking about Lifehouse) of a “rock opera”, the album was accepted quite well by Who fans. Composed of 4 sides, Quadrophenia told the story of Jimmy, who had a themed angst of a growing kid. Mixed into the brief time period were drugs, parental unease at home, and early work efforts, all in a fictional story centered around growing up. In celebration of its 50th Anniversary, Quadrophenia was remixed in Dolby Atmos and is now in release. But…

On February 2, The Who will reissue the album in a Half-Speed Master 2LP black vinyl set. The package will be featured in a gatefold jacket, all with original displays. A 44-page booklet is packed inside as will be a certificate of authenticity.

I’m hoping that (for fans of CD), this 50th Anniversary celebration of Quadrophenia will be realized on CD Box issue as well. But for now, 2LP vinyl, it is. The Atmos mix can be heard at Apple Music or purchased as DD from iTunes here. Here is the link to pre-order the 2LP set for February.

Quadrophenia (50th Anniversary) – The Who

Side A
01 I Am the Sea
02 The Real Me
03 Quadrophenia
04 Cut My Hair
05 The Punk and The Godfather

Side B
01 I’m One
02 The Dirty Jobs
03 Helpless Dancer (Roger’s Theme)
04 Is It in My Head
05 I’ve Had Enough


Side A
01 5:15
02 Sea and Sand
03 Drowned
04 Bell Boy (Keith’s Theme)

Side B
01 Doctor Jimmy (John’s Theme)
02 The Rock
03 Love, Reign O’er Me (Pete’s Theme)

By MARowe