Cowboy Junkies formed in the ’80s as an Alternative Country band. Their second album, The Trinity Sessions, jumped into the stratosphere in sales and charting for both Canada, and the US. For 8 years after that album, they continued to interest the masses with best-selling albums on through Lay It Down (1996). But even as sales slowed down, they continued to release quality albums. Their last was Sharon, issued in 2022. The sister/brothers team (along with Alan Anton on bass, and Janes McKie on fiddle and electric guitar) still produce compelling music with covers and original songs.

On June 2, Cowboy Junkies return to us with a new album to be called Such Ferocious Beauty. The set will contain ten originals performed with the familiar Country/Folk/Rock style that fans have loved. Such Ferocious Beauty has just released a single to herald the album. That song, “What I Lost” can be heard below. A 12-page booklet is packed in with the CD, with the LP using printed inner sleeves.

Such Ferocious Beauty will be issued on CD, DD, and several Limited Edition vinyl LP forms that include Translucent Green vinyl, Translucent Tan vinyl, and standard black (I’m assuming).

Such Ferocious BeautyCowboy Junkies
1. What I Lost
2. Flood
3. Hard To Build. Easy to Break.
4. Circe And Penelope
5. Hell Is Real
6. Shadows
7. Knives
8. Mike Tyson (Here It Comes)
9. Throw A Match
10. Blue Skies

By MARowe