U2 has released fan favorites since the early ’80s when the respected trilogy of Boy (1980), October (1981), and War (1983) gave way to a change in style with The Unforgettable Fire (1984), and The Joshua Tree (1987). Those last two albums eventually gave way to other stylistic changes in Achtung Baby (1991), Zooropa (1993), and Pop (1997). And there were more.

On March 17, a new album arrives from U2 that does not claim new tracks but rather a collection of re-recorded AND reimagined songs from their catalog of excellent albums. These are included in a set to be called Songs of Surrender. It’s hinted that a few songs have some lyric changes. (You can hear the reimagined “Beautiful Day” below in a trailer for the new album.)

Songs Of Surrender will be released on 4CD, DD, and vinyl 4LP with 40 tracks.  There will be a pared down release that fills 2CD and a single CD. There will also be a 2LP release. A follow-up album is planned tentatively to be called Songs of Ascent.

CD1/1LP (The Edge)
01 Where The Streets Have No Name
02 Stories For Boys
03 11 O’Clock Tick Tock
04 Out Of Control
05 Beautiful Day
06 Bad
07 Every Breaking Wave
08 Walk On (Ukraine)
09 Pride (In The Name Of Love)

CD2/1LP (Larry)
01 Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses
02 Get Out Of Your Own Way
03 Stuck In A Moment You Can’t Get Out Of
04 Red Hill Mining Town
05 Ordinary Love
06 Sometimes You Can’t Make It On Your Own
07 Invisible
08 Dirty Day
09 The Miracle(Of Joey Ramone)
10 City Of Blinding Lights

CD3/1LP (Adam)
01 Vertigo
02 I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For
03 Electrical Storm
04 The Fly
05 If God Will Send His Angels
06 Desire
07 Until The End Of The World
08 Song For Someone
09 All I Want Is You
10 Peace On Earth

CD4/1LP (Bono)
01 With Or Without You
02 Stay (Faraway, So Close!)
03 Sunday Bloody Sunday
04 Lights Of Home
05 Cedarwood Road
06 I Will Follow
07 Two Hearts Beat As One
08 Miracle Drug
09 The Little Things That Give You Away
10 ‘’40’’

By MARowe