The band by the name of Spirit encapsulated the strong Psych Rock period of the late ’60s in the LA area. With that, they released 4 in that span. Spirit would lose Jay Ferguson to solo work (and Randy California for an album), but would persevere for the length of eleven more albums through 2005. The best-selling Spirit album (and the lowest charting to that point) was Twelve Dreams Of Dr. Sardonicus.

On February 25, Esoteric Recordings UK will revisit that album with a new 2CD Edition that delivers new remastering and 28 bonus tracks. A new booklet with new essay and notes will be included. The first CD will feature the original album and a collection of 11 related recording sessions tracks, while CD2 offers 17 live tracks from the band’s show in May of 1970 at the Fillmore West.

Twelve Dreams Of Dr. SardonicusSpirit

CD1 (Original Album and Bonus Tracks)
01 Prelude – Nothin’ To Hide
02 Nature’s Way
03 Animal Zoo
04 Love Has Found A Way
05 Why Can’t I Be Free?
06 Mr Skin
07 Space Child
08 When I Touch You
09 Street Worm
10 Life Has Just Begun
11 Morning Will Come
12 Soldier
Bonus Tracks
13 Rougher Road
14 Dirty Dan
15 Red Light Roll On
16 Animal Zoo (mono mix)
17 Morning Will Come (mono mix)
18 Love has Found a Way (backing track)
19 Street Worm (live backing track)
20 When I Touch You (rehearsal / backing track)
21 Walking On My Feet
22 Nature’s Way (First ever performance Fillmore West, May 1970)
23 I Want My Smoke

CD2 (Live at The Fillmore West, May 1970)
01 Sweet Stella Baby
02 1984
03 Country Echo
04 Jealous
05 All The Same
06 Fresh Garbage
07 It Shall Be
08 Nothing To Hide
09 Ice
10 Mr Skin
11 Animal Zoo
12 I’m Truckin’
13 So Little Time To Fly
14 Fog
15 Mechanical World
16 Dark Eyed Woman
17 Uncle Jack

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.