The Electric Prunes took part in the emergence of PsychRock back in the ’60s. Although the style was short-lived, its influence is still felt today with the likes of The Black Angels, Elephant Stone, Mien, and so many more. The Electric Prunes released five albums during their peak period giving them cult status that is still revered and appreciated. Their two biggest hits were “I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)”, and “Get Me To The World On Time”, both from the debut release in 1967.

On January 7, Grapefruit Records (of Cherry Red Music UK) will produce a 6CD Box to be called Then Came the Dawn – Complete Recordings 1966-1969 and featuring the peak five albums, all newly remastered. The first three albums are included as Stereo and Mono mixes, while the 4th and 5th album are put together on the 4th CD. The 5th CD adds a collection of single mixes, rare tracks, and extended versions. The 6th CD will contain the previously released Stockholm ’67 live set, and  four demo recordings.

The Box will pack in a booklet filled with photos, history of the band, and other notes.

Then Came The Dawn – Complete Recordings 1966-1969The Electric Prunes

CD1 (The Electric Prunes [1967] Stereo/Mono)
01 I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)
02 Bangles
03 Onie
04 Are You Lovin’ Me More (But Enjoying It Less)
05 Train For Tomorrow
06 Sold To The Highest Bidder
07 Get Me To The World On Time
08 About A Quarter To Nine
09 The King Is In The Counting House
10 Luvin’
11 Try Me On For Size
12 Tunerville Trolley

CD2 (Underground [1967] Stereo/Mono)
01 The Great Banana Hoax
02 Children Of Rain
03 Wind-Up Toys
04 Antique Doll
05 It’s Not Fair
06 I Happen To Love You
07 Dr. Do-Good
08 I
09 Hideaway
10 Big City
11 Capt. Glory
12 Long Day’s Flight

CD3 (Mass in F Minor [1968]  Stereo/ Mono)
01 Kyrie Eleison
02 Gloria
03 Credo
04 Sanctus
05 Benedictus
06 Agnus Dei

CD4 (Release Of An Oath [1968] / Just Good Old Rock And Roll [1969])
Release Of An Oath
01 Kol Nidre
02 Holy Are You
03 General Confessional
04 Individual Confessional
05 Our Father, Our King
06 The Adoration
07 Closing Hymn
Just Good Old Rock And Roll
08 Sell
09 14 Year Old Funk
10 Love Grows
11 So Many People To Tell
12 Finders Keepers, Losers Weepers
13 Giant Sunhorse
14 Violent Rose
15 Thorjon
16 Silver Passion Mine
17 Tracks
18 Sing To Me

CD5 (Shadows: Single Mixes, Rare Tracks, Demos, and Extended Versions)
01 Ain’t It Hard
02 Little Olive
03 I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)
04 Luvin’
05 I’ve Got A Way of My Own
06 World of Darkness
07 Get Me To The World On Time
08 Are You Lovin’ Me More (But Enjoying It Less)
09 Dr. Do-Good
10 Hideaway
11 The Great Banana Hoax
12 Wind-Up Toys
13 Everybody Knows (You’re Not In Love)
14 You’ve Never Had It Better
15 Long Days Flight
16 Shadows
17 Hey Mr. President
18 Flowing Smoothly
19 Vox Wah Wah Pedal Radio Spot

CD6 (Stockholm ’67 – Live)
01 You Never Had It Better
02 I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)
03 Try Me On For Size
04 I Happen To Love You
05 I Got My Mojo Workin’
06 Long Day’s Flight (‘Til Tomorrow)
07 Smokestack Lightning
08 Get Me To The World On Time
Jim and The Lords Demo Recordings
09 I’m Free
10 Little (Li’l) Olive
11 Too Many People
12 I’m Down

By MARowe