With all the attention that Metallica is generating with their upcoming Black Album reissue (here), it simply makes sense to ride those PR coattails for maximum voyage. Planned for supplemental release is a collection of unique cover tracks from various artists of songs from the Black Album. 53 artists have contributed covers of the Black Album‘s 12 songs in an effort to contribute even further, this time with all profits of such a set to be going to several charities. The charities are listed as selected by the various contributing artists.

On October 1, Metallica will release The Metallica Blacklist, a covers set as explained above. The album will be issued on CD as a ten-panel digipak 4CD, and on vinyl with a Limited Edition 7LP box. The LPs will be housed in die-cut sleeves and the set will come with an MP3 download rights card for the digital tracks. DD will arrive much sooner with a release date of September 10. A booklet is packed in. For those interested, the track list is below.

Two “Holier Than Thou” tracks from the album can be heard below (one from OFF!, and one from Biffy Clyro).

The Metallica BlacklistVarious Artists

01 Enter Sandman – Alessia Cara & The Warning
02 Enter Sandman – Mac DeMarco
03 Enter Sandman – Ghost
04 Enter Sandman – Juanes
05 Enter Sandman – Rina Sawayama
06 Enter Sandman – Weezer
07 Sad But True (Live) – Sam Fender
08 Sad But True – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit
09 Sad But True – Mexican Institute of Sound feat. La Perla & Gera MX
10 Sad But True – Royal Blood
11 Sad But True – St. Vincent
12 Sad But True – White Reaper
13 Sad But True – YB

01 Holier Than Thou – Biffy Clyro
02 Holier Than Thou – The Chats
03 Holier Than Thou – OFF!
04 Holier Than Thou – PUP
05 Holier Than Thou – Corey Taylor
06 The Unforgiven – Cage The Elephant
07 The Unforgiven – Vishal Dadlani, DIVINE, Shor Police
08 The Unforgiven – Diet Cig
09 The Unforgiven – Flatbush Zombies feat. DJ Scratch
10 The Unforgiven – Ha*Ash
11 The Unforgiven – José Madero
12 The Unforgiven – Moses Sumney

01 Wherever I May Roam – J Balvin
02 Wherever I May Roam – Chase & Status feat. BackRoad Gee
03 Wherever I May Roam – The Neptunes
04 Wherever I May Roam – Jon Pardi
05 Don’t Tread on Else Matters – SebastiAn
06 Don’t Tread on Me – Portugal. The Man
07 Don’t Tread on Me – Volbeat
08 Through The Never – The HU
09 Through The Never – Tomi Owó
10 Nothing Else Matters – Phoebe Bridgers
11 Nothing Else Matters – Miley Cyrus feat WATT, Elton John, Yo-Yo Ma, Robert Trujillo, Chad Smith
12 Nothing Else Matters – Dave Gahan
13 Nothing Else Matters – Mickey Guyton
14 Nothing Else Matters – Dermot Kennedy
15 Nothing Else Matters – Mon Laferte

01 Nothing Else Matters – Igor Levit
02 Nothing Else Matters – My Morning Jacket
03 Nothing Else Matters – PG Roxette
04 Nothing Else Matters – Darius Rucker
05 Nothing Else Matters – Chris Stapleton
06 Nothing Else Matters – TRESOR
07 Of Wolf and Man – Goodnight, Texas
08 The God That Failed – IDLES
09 The God That Failed – Imelda May
10 My Friend of Misery – Cherry Glazerr
11 My Friend of Misery – Izïa
12 My Friend of Misery – Kamasi Washington
13 The Struggle Within – Rodrigo y Gabriela

By MARowe