The under-appreciated UK band, The Stranglers, strung out a series of 17 studio albums over a period of 35 years. Along the way, they lost original members, Hugh Cornwell to disinterest (10 was his last album with the band), and Dave Greenfield to Covid-19 in 2020. Jet Black, and Jean-Jacques Burnel remain from the original lineup. The band – to me – is irreplaceable in any form but the original. But they have always remained excellent if not superior.

On September 12, The Stranglers will release their latest album, Dark Matters. The new album is complete with eleven new tracks, 8 of which have Dave Greenfield in them before his death. Dark Matters have a track in release from the new album called (hear below) called – lovingly – “And If You Should See Dave…“. It is explained that much of the album was already recorded with Greenfield and that it is “…fitting tribute to his life and work” to release it. 

Dark Matters will release via Absolute Label on CD, DD, 180g-weight industry standard black vinyl LP, and a limited edition 180g-weight red and black smoke-colored vinyl LP. Pre-orders will include a collectible bonus CD, Dave Greenfield – A Tribute, which contains 8 live Stranglers performance tracks (see track list below). A strong selection of bundles can be discovered and pre-ordered here.

Dark MattersThe Stranglers
01 Water
02 This Song
03 And If You Should See Dave…
04 If Something’s Gonna Kill Me (It Might As Well Be Love)
05 No Mans Land
06 The Lines
07 Payday
08 Down
09 The Last Men On The Moon
10 White Stallion
11 Breathe

Dave Greenfield – A Tribute
01 Dead Ringer (from Black & White 2016 UK Tour)
02 Peasant In The Big Shitty (Live from Ruby Anniversary 2014 UK Tour)
03 Walk On By (Live from TSUTAYA O-West, Tokyo, Japan 2019)
04 Do You Wanna? (Live from Black & White 2016 UK Tour)
05 Baroque Bordello (Live from Brixton Academy, Back On The Tracks Tour, London 2019)
06 4 Horsemen (Live from March On 2015 UK Tour)
07 This Song (Live from Brixton Academy, Back On The Tracks Tour, London 2019)
08 Water (Live from Brixton Academy, Back On The Tracks Tour, London 2019)

By MARowe