After recording Number The Brave with Wishbone Ash, John Wetton elected to move on and help form the supergroup, Asia. He brought to the fold Steve Howe (Yes), Carl Palmer (ELP), and Geoff Downes (The Buggles/Yes) and released their first album, the eponymous Asia. The debut album generated a big radio hit with “Heat Of The Moment”. For three albums, the band was high on the charts until departures watered down the essence. Nevertheless, the promise of the band was pushed forward with new members that included John Payne, who along with Geoff Downes, kept Asia going with six more albums. Eventually, the original crew reformed and delivered three more albums through 2012. The final Asia album, Gravitas (2014), was without Steve Howe. 

On June 11, BMG will release a 5CD clamshell-styled Box named The Reunion Albums 2007-2012. In it will feature three albums with the classic lineup as well as the 2007 2CD live set, Fantasia – Live In Tokyo recorded during their 2007 World Tour on March 8, 2007. In this album are songs played from each of the members’ previous bands. The four albums all contain original Roger Dean artwork although the Fantasia cover has been updated. The box cover art was pulled from a previously unused Dean art piece.

The Reunion Albums: 2007-2012Asia

CD1 (Fantasia – Live In Tokyo [March 8, 2007])
01 Time Again
02 Wildest Dreams
03 One Step Closer
04 Roundabout
05 Without You
06 Cutting It Fine
07 Intersection Blues
08 Fanfare For The Common Man
09 The Smile Has Left Your Eyes

CD2 (Fantasia – Live In Tokyo [March 8, 2007])
01 Don’t Cry
02 In The Court Of The Crimson King
03 Here Comes The Feeling
04 Video Killed The Radio Star
05 The Heat Goes On
06 Only Time Will Tell
07 Sole Survivor
08 Ride Easy
09 Heat Of The Moment

CD3 (Phoenix)
01 Never Again
02 Nothing’s Forever
03 Heroine
04 Sleeping Giant /No Way Back / Reprise
05 Alibis
06 I Will Remember You
07 Shadow Of A Doubt
08 Parallel Worlds-Vortex-Déyà
09 Wish I’d Known All Along
10 Orchard Of Mines
11 Over And Over
12 An Extraordinary Life

CD4 (Omega)
01 Finger On The Trigger
02 Through My Veins
03 Holy War
04 Ever Yours
05 Listen, Children
06 End Of The World
07 Light The Way
08 Emily
09 I’m Still The Same
10 There Was A Time
11 I Believe
12 Don’t Wanna Lose You Now

01 Tomorrow The World
02 Bury Me In Willow
03 No Religion
04 Faithful
05 I Know How You Feel
06 Face On The Bridge
07 Al Gatto Nero
08 Judas
09 Reno (Silver And Gold)
10 Ghost Of A Chance

By MARowe