Gospel and Pop joined hands more tightly back in 1972 when Pop Staples and The Staple Singers hit the airwaves with “Respect Yourself”, voiced by the powerful Mavis Staples. Afterwards, songs like “I’ll Take You There”, “If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me)”, and “Let’s Do It Again” helped to increase the music of The Staple Singers. Eventually, they became known as The Staples. While most of the Staples family are gone, Mavis remains to create.

Over two dates, Omnivore Records will reissue four Staples titles, all in newly remastered form, and all bolstered by bonus tracks, and newly designed booklets with essential essays, photos, and credits.

On June 5, Omnivore will release their Curtis Mayfield-produced soundtrack classic for the comedy movie, Let’s Do It Again (1975). That album produced the hit, “Let’s Do It Again” and did extremely well on the charts. The other set, Pass It On (1976), was the vocal group’s first album for Warner Brothers Records.

On June 26, Omnivore Records reissues Family Tree (1977), and Unlock Your Mind (1978). While sales were respectable for the R&B markets, the original Rock/Pop crossover appeal was gone as Rock turned to a great renaissance of new music with Punk and New Wave changing the world drastically. In 1984, The Staples would release a final album, Turning Point, which would yield a minor hit with a cover of Talking Heads’ “Slippery People”. albeit for a new label other than WBR.

Let’s Do It Again S/TThe Staple Singers
01 Let’s Do It Again
02 Funky Love
03 A Whole Lot Of Love
04 New Orleans
05 I Want To Thank You
06 Big Mac
07 After Sex
08 Chase
Bonus Tracks 
09 Let’s Do It Again (Single Edit)
10 After Sex (Single Edit)
11 New Orleans (Single Edit)

Pass It OnThe Staples
01 The Real Thing Inside Of Me/Party
02 Take Your Own Time
03 Sweeter Than The Sweet
04 Love Me, Love Me, Love Me
05 Pass It On
06 Making Love
07 Take This Love Of Mine
08 Precious, Precious
Bonus Tracks
09 Sweeter Than The Sweet (Single Edit)
10 Love Me, Love Me, Love Me (Single Edit)

Family TreeThe Staples
01 Family Tree
02 What You Doing Tonight
03 See A Little Further (Than My Bed)
04 I Honestly Love You
05 Hang Loose
06 Let’s Go To The Disco
07 Color Me Higher
08 Boogie For The Blues
Bonus Tracks
09 I Honestly Love You (Single Edit)
10 Let’s Go To The Disco (Single Edit)

Unlock Your MindThe Staples
01 Chica Boom
02 Don’t Burn Me
03 (Shu-doo-pa-poo-poop)
04 Love Being Your Fool
05 Showdown
06 Unlock Your Mind
07 Handwriting On The Wall
08 Mystery Train
09 Leave It All Up To Love
10 I Want You To Dance
11 God Can
Bonus Track
12 Chica Boom (Single Edit) 


By MARowe