In our young developing years, my younger brother and I fed off each other musically. One of his favorites were Average White Band. I’m still not half the fan he is, but to deny their impact on me would be unfair.

Average White Band broke through in 1975 with their “Pick Up The Pieces” from their debut Atlantic Records album. Over their career span, they released 13 albums.

On June 12, Edsel UK will release a 5CD Box called Anthology. Anthology features 73 tracks pulled from their early albums up through Cupid’s In Fashion (1982). Not only are there original album tracks, there are also live tracks, as well as single edits and 12″ dance single mixes.

A richly assembled book is included with the song feast. Edsel released a 14CD Box, All The Pieces: The Complete Studio Recordings 1971-2003 back in 2014. It’s a box that my brother proudly owns and plays often.

AnthologyAverage White Band

01 Pick Up The Pieces
02 Cut The Cake
03 Show Your Hand
04 Work To Do
05 Queen Of My Soul
06 A Star In The Ghetto – with Ben E. King
07 Atlantic Avenue
08 Keepin’ It To Myself
09 Twilight Zone
10 Whatcha’ Gonna Do For Me
11 Walk On By
12 Feel No Fret
13 School Boy Crush
14 Put It Where You Want It
15 Let’s Go ‘Round Again

01 The Jugglers
02 Got The Love
03 Groovin’ The Night Away
04 Sweet & Sour
05 I’m The One
06 Reach Out
07 Your Love Is A Miracle
08 Person To Person 3
09 Daddy’s All Gone
10 When Will You Be Mine
11 Big City Lights
12 T.L.C
13 Back In ’67
14 Stop The Rain

01 Overture
02 If I Ever Lose This Heaven
03 Get It Up For Love
04 I Just Can’t Give You Up
05 How Sweet Can You Get
06 Nothing You Can Do
07 A Love Of Your Own
08 Love Your Life
09 Would You Stay
10 For You, For Love
11 Isn’t It Strange
12 Love Gives, Love Takes Away
13 Digging Deeper (Finale)

01 How Can You Go Home
02 Work To Do [7″ Edit]
03 Cut The Cake [7″” Edit]
04 Queen Of My Soul [7″” Edit]
05 Get It Up For Love [7″” Edit] – with Ben E. King
06 A Star In The Ghetto [7″” Edit] – with Ben E. King
07 Your Love Is A Miracle [7″” Edit]
08 Feel No Fret [7″” Edit]
09 For You, For Love [7″” Edit]
10 Shine
11 Walk On By [12″” Version]
12 Let’s Go Round Again [12″” Version]
13 The Jugglers [First Version]
14 How Sweet Can You Get [First Version]
15 Back In ’67 [First Version]
16 Reach Out [First Version]
17 Pick Up The Pieces [Early Version]

01 This World Has Music
02 McEwan’s Export
03 In The Beginning
04 White Water Dreams
05 It Didn’t Take Me A Minute
06 Wasn’t I Your Friend
07 Miss Sun
08 Kiss Me
09 Love Won’t Get In The Way
10 Growing Pains
11 I’m Gonna Make You Love Me [Live]
12 Pick Up The Pieces [Live]
13 I Heard It Through The Grapevine [Live]


By MARowe