When you think of saxophone, the name of John Coltrane immediately comes to mind as one of the world’s greatest innovators of the sounds of a saxophone. Whether alto, soprano, or tenor sax, Coltrane mastered the instruments with an influential ease and style. Upping the cool factor of John Coltrane are his times with great musicians like Miles Davis, and many others. After a short stint with Savoy Records, and Blue Note Records, John Coltrane moved over to Atlantic Records beginning with one of his now great classics, Giant Steps was released in 1960 and quickly changed the vistas of jazz.  2020 represents 60 years since Giant Steps was released.

On May 8, Atlantic will revisit Giant Steps with a new 2020 remastered version of the album, complete with collection of alternate takes and versions, false starts, rehearsals, and incomplete tracks. This will be released as a CD set, DD, and a 2LP 180g-weight black vinyl LP package. The sets will add in an essential booklet. The remaster is all new for 2020. The LP will include a 12″ x 12″ album cover insert. The art work replicates the original.

Giant Steps (60th Anniversary Edition with 2020 Remaster) – John Coltrane
01 Giant Steps
02 Cousin Mary
03 Countdown
04 Spiral
05 Syeeda’s Song Flute
06 Naima
07 Mr. P. C.
Bonus Tracks (Previously Released – 2020 Remaster)
08 Giant Steps (Alternate Take 1, Incomplete)
09 Naima (Alternate Take 3)
10 Like Sonny (Alternate Take 7)
11 Countdown (Alternate Take)
12 Syeeda’s Song Flute (Alternate Take)
13 Cousin Mary (Alternate Take)
14 Giant Steps (Alternate Take 5)
15 Giant Steps (Alternate Take 6)

By MARowe