Throughout The Replacements‘ brief career, which professionally lasted from 1981 through 1990, Westerberg and crew issued a short supply of excellent albums, seven in all. One of those, Don’t Tell A Soul, represented The Replacements‘ near end of career with a strong collection of eleven tunes.

On September 27, Rhino will revisit Don’t Tell A Soul with an extended 4CD/1LP revue filled with alternate mixes and alternate takes to fully reveal the sessions for the album.  Overall, this new boxed set being referred to as Dead Man’s Pop, will supply the Replacements fan with a wealth of sixty tracks, most previously unavailable. That alone makes this a ‘must own’ set for Replacements purists and completists.

Dead Man’s Pop adds in a CD of assorted bonus tracks that include Tom Waits sessions tracks, demos, the Bearsville version set of tracks, alternate mixes and takes, and outtakes, including an outtake of the Slade classic song, “Gudbuy T’ Jane”.  Dead Man’s Pop will also include two CDs of a full June 2, 1989 University of Wisconsin (Milwaukee) show to round out the set. The box will come in a 12″ by 12″ hardcover book case. The 180g-weight vinyl LP included will feature the Matt Wallace mix of Don’t Tell A Soul Redux album. A bonus of a 14-track cassette was being offered to the first 500 pre-orders but those are likely long gone by now.

Dead Man’s PopThe Replacements

CD1/LP1: (Don’t Tell A Soul Redux – Matt Wallace Mix)
01 Talent Show
02 I’ll Be You
03 We’ll Inherit the Earth
04 Achin’ to Be
05 Darlin’ One
06 Back to Back
07 I Won’t
08 Asking Me Lies
09 They’re Blind
10 Anywhere’s Better Than Here
11 Rock ‘n’ Roll Ghost

CD2: (We Know The Night: Rare and Unreleased)
Bearsville Version
01 Portland (Alternate Mix)
02 Achin’ To Be
03 I’ll Be You
04 Wake Up (Alternate Mix)
05 We’ll Inherit The Earth
06 Last Thing In The World
07 They’re Blind
08 Rock ‘N’ Roll Ghost
09 Darlin’ One
Additional Bonus Tracks
10 Talent Show (Demo Version)
11 Dance On My Planet
12 We Know The Night (Alternate Outtake)
13 Ought To Get Love (Alternate Mix)
14 Gudbuy t’Jane (Outtake)
15 Lowdown Monkey Blues (feat. Tom Waits)
16 If Only You Were Lonely (feat. Tom Waits)
17 We Know The Night (feat. Tom Waits) [Rehearsal]
18 We Know The Night (feat. Tom Waits) [Full Band Version]
19 I Can Help (feat. Tom Waits)
20 Date To Church (Matt Wallace Remix)

CD3: (The Complete Inconcerated Live, Part One – Live at University Of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, WI, 06/02/1989)
01 Alex Chilton
02 Talent Show
03 Back To Back
04 I Don’t Know
05 The Ledge
06 Waitress In The Sky
07 Anywhere’s Better Than Here
08 Nightclub Jitters
09 Cruella De Ville
10 Achin’ To Be
11 Asking Me Lies
12 Bastards Of Young
13 Answering Machine
14 Little Mascara
15 I’ll Be You

CD4: (The Complete Inconcerated Live, Part Two – Live at University Of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, WI, 06/02/1989)
01 Darlin’ One
02 I Will Dare
03 Another Girl, Another Planet
04 I Won’t
05 Unsatisfied
06 We’ll Inherit The Earth
07 Can’t Hardly Wait
08 Color Me Impressed
09 Born To Lose
10 Never Mind
11 Here Comes A Regular
12 Valentine
13 Left Of The Dial
14 Black Diamond

By MARowe