Imagine how strange it is when you think of units sold back in 2003. That year doesn’t seem to be too far removed from our current time. And yet, a popular band from Australia sold over 6.5 million physical copies of its label debut. That band is Jet, and the album is Get Born, released in 2003. Today, that album, and many others that might be shocking to mention, would likely sell through less than 30,000 physical copies and be deemed successful. That’s how much times have changed in so seemingly few years. That doesn’t knock the quality of the music; it merely explains the times we live in.

Jet is a four member band with two brothers from Melbourne. Their Elektra debut was a big hit that generated singles “Are You Gonna Be My Girl”, “Cold Hard Bitch”, “Look What You Done”, “Rollover DJ”, and “Get Me Outta Here”. Over time, the band released two more albums (Shine On – 2006; Shaka Rock – 2009). Strangely, Get Born was the only album with Elektra, with the last two each released on different labels.

Recently reformed, Jet has met with touring success with a sold out show in Australia. With renewed interest, Get Born is being revisited.

On June 16, Rhino Records will release a 2CD Deluxe Edition of Get Born with rarities and B-sides. The reissue will also feature brand new remastering.

The added CD will supply eleven tracks that include live performances, demos, and B-sides (see track-list below).

Get Born – Jet

01 Last Chance
02 Are You Gonna Be My Girl
03 Rollover D.J.
04 Look What You’ve Done
05 Get What You Need
06 Move On
07 Radio Song
08 Get Me Outta Here
09 Cold Hard Bitch
10 Come Around Again
11 Take It Or Leave It
12 Lazy Gun
13 Timothy

01 Sgt. Major
02 That’s Alright Mama (Live)
03 Hey Kids
04 You Were Right (Demo)
05 You Don’t Look The Same (Demo)
06 Bruises
07 Move On (Live at The Troubadour)
08 Are You Gonna Be My Girl (Live – AOL Session)
09 Take It Or Leave It (Live In Hamburg)
10 Lazy Gun (Demo)
11 Cigarettes And Cola (Demo)


By MARowe