rs-blue-lonesomeThe Rolling Stones have stood for the greatness of Rock and Roll for as long as many of us can remember. When they released The UK debut, The Rolling Stones (England’s Newest Hit Makers in the US), in 1964, and followed those classics up with 12×5 (US only) in the same year, as well as The Rolling Stones No. 2 (UK), and The Rolling Stones, Now! (US) in 1965. little were we aware that his band would remain at the pinnacle for as long as they have. The band is now pretty much the FACE of Rock and Roll.

Fast forward to 2005’s A Bigger Bang, it would not have been too much a stretch to realize that the band has gone as far as it was likely to go in creativity given a new era of Rock and Roll acceptance in music. Even though the band would dominate as a touring machine playing all the hits and deep cuts, they could not reach into the psyche of the young like they had in the past. When they decided that they would record a new album of originals, Stones fans were pleased at their willingness to pursue another set. As they gathered to record, they found themselves playing classic Blues tracks. The songs were so good that they could not be ignored and so it was decided that this collected set would be their next album.

On December 2, The Rolling Stones will release a 12-track set of great blues tracks that features originals by Howlin’ Wolf, Willie Dixon, Memphis Slim, Little Walter, and more. The bonus of two tracks is that Eric Clapton joined to play guitar. ┬áThe new album will take its title – Blue & Lonesome – from the Memphis Slim tune of the same name.

Blue & Lonesome will be issued on CD, DD, a 2LP package, and a Deluxe Edition Box with a 72-page hardbound book stuffed with words, credits, and photos including lyrics.


Blue & Lonesome – The Rolling Stones
01 – Just Your Fool
02 – Commit A Crime
03 – Blue And Lonesome
04 – All Of Your Love
05 – I Gotta Go
06 – Everybody Knows About My Good Thing
07 – Ride ‘Em On Down
08 – Hate To See You Go
09 – Hoo Doo Blues
10 – Little Rain
11 – Just Like I Treat You
12 – I Can’t Quit You Baby


By MARowe