Sparkle In the RainWell, there CAN be great news on a somber (and for here, a cold and wet) December. With a tip-off, I have just learned that Simple Minds will reissue one of their greatest efforts in a king-sized Deluxe Edition that will make the fan quite pleased, if not extremely anxious for March, 2015.

On March 16, Virgin Records will release Sparkle In the Rain in a Box that will include a wealthy sort of bonus tracks including B-sides, extended mixes, BBC sessions, promo videos of tracks from the album, Tops Of The Pops appearances, and a previously unreleased concert show from the period. In addition to this dang great idea will be a booklet that includes new notes, a track-by-track annotation, and a bonus replica concert program.

The music from this superb album was remastered at Abbey Studios in 2014, so the songs will be as fresh and vibrant as they can be for the time being (until better tech comes along, of course).

For release purposes, there will be the 2CD Deluxe Edition, a 180g vinyl LP issue, and, for the super fan, a massive 4CD/1DVD Super Deluxe Edition Box. The DVD will be the carrier for the album’s DTS 5.1 Surround Sound tracks, Dolby 5.1 Surround Sound tracks, and hi-quality Stereo mixes by Steven Wilson, as well as the delivery engine for the promo videos, etc.

Below are your track-listings for the Super Deluxe Edition: You can subtract the 3rd and 4th CD for the 2CD Deluxe Edition.

C’mon, March!

Simple Minds Sparkle In the Rain DE

Track Listings


1. Up On The Catwalk
2. Book Of Brilliant Things
3. Speed Your Love To Me
4. Waterfront
5. East At Easter
6. Street Hassle
7. White Hot Day
8. “C” Moon Cry Like A Baby
9. The Kick Inside Of Me
10. Shake Off The Ghosts


1. Waterfront (Edit)
2. Hunter And The Hunted (Live B – Side)
3. Waterfront (Extended Remix)
4. Speed Your Love To Me (Edit)
5. Bass Line (B – Side)
6. Speed Your Love To Me (Extended)
7. Up On The Catwalk (Edit)
8. A Brass Band in Africa (B – Side)
9. Up On The Catwalk (Extended)
10. A Brass Band in Africa Chimes (B – Side)
11. Waterfront (Single Version)


1. Shake Off The Ghosts [Intro] (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
2. Waterfront (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
3. Up On The Catwalk (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
4. The Book Of Brilliant Things (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
5. Glittering Prize (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
6. The American (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
7. King Is White And In The Crowd (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
8. Speed Your Love To Me (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
9. Someone Somewhere In Summertime (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)


1. Promised You A Miracle (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
2. Big Sleep (LIVE – Barrowlands Glasgow 1984)
3. New Gold Dream (81,82,83,84) [Live] – Take Me To The River [Live]
4. Love Song [Live] – Glory [Live] (LIVE
5. Waterfront (Radio One Session)
6. Kick Inside (Radio One Session)
7. New Gold Dream (Radio One Session)

Disc: 5
1. Up On The Catwalk (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
2. Book Of Brilliant Things (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
3. Speed Your Love To Me (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
4. Waterfront (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
5. East At Easter (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
6. Street Hassle (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
7. White Hot Day (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
8. “C” Moon Cry Like A Baby (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
9. The Kick Inside Of Me (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
10. Shake Off The Ghosts (DTS 5.1 Mix Surround Mix)
11. Up On The Catwalk (High Res Stereo Mix)
12. Book Of Brilliant Things (High Res Stereo Mix)
13. Speed Your Love To Me (High Res Stereo Mix)
14. Waterfront (High Res Stereo Mix)
15. East At Easter (High Res Stereo Mix)
16. Street Hassle (High Res Stereo Mix)
17. White Hot Day (High Res Stereo Mix)
18. “C” Moon Cry Like A Baby (High Res Stereo Mix)
19. The Kick Inside Of Me (High Res Stereo Mix)
20. Shake Off The Ghosts (High Res Stereo Mix)
21. Up On The Catwalk (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
22. Book Of Brilliant Things (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
23. Speed Your Love To Me (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
24. Waterfront (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
25. East At Easter (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
26. Street Hassle (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
27. White Hot Day (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
28. “C” Moon Cry Like A Baby (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
29. The Kick Inside Of Me (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
30. Shake Off The Ghosts (Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Mix)
31. Waterfront (Promo Video)
32. Speed Your Love To Me (Promo Video)
33. Up On The Catwalk (Promo Video)
34. Waterfront (TOTP)
35. Speed Your Love (Oxford Road Show)
36. Up On The Catwalk (Oxford Road Show)

By MARowe

3 thoughts on “Simple Minds To Reissue Remastered 1983 Classic, Sparkle In The Rain”
  1. WOW!!! That announcement hit another one out of the park. I’m extremely glad that they got Steven Wilson to do this surround mix for them. It would also be nice to see Steven give “Once upon a time” or “Sparkle” another shot at the surround landscape, even though the old 5.1 mixes are not too shabby (if you managed to pick one up). “Street fighting” and “Real Life” would also be welcome additions…

    In other news, I got a chance to spin the brand new Simple Minds album “Big Music” yesterday. First impression is that it is a very good album, thoroughly grounded in the style they have been progressing through for the last couple of releases, but definitely moving forward with their technique. There are also nuances of their earlier period (early 80’s) in the songwriting and performances, which is welcoming.

    Glad to see that they are still pushing the envelope!!!

Comments are closed.