Suzi Quatro Girl From Detroit City CD BoxSuzi Quatro, although born in the US, earned her Rock and Roll stripes in the UK. With a string of hits, songs that many of us here in the States only heard about, she soon became a star in her own right. From the early 1970s, Suzi Quatro released her first album, the self-titled debut with a great cover. That album contained her big hit, “Can the Can”, which eventually trickled over to the States on hip FM stations.

But it wasn’t until her high profile introduction on Happy Days as Leather Tuscadero that her States-side success became cemented. In 1978, she recorded a duet with Chris Norman of Smokie. the song, “Stumblin’ In” got her the recognition that she had wanted, creating a wider audience for her band.

On October 27, 7Ts Records from the UK will issue a 4CD retrospective box called The Girl From Detroit City. The Box will anthologize her career with more than 80 tracks, including some demos and alternate versions.  The box will feature a 54-page booklet with lots of memorabilia, photos, and an extensive track-by-track note by Suzi Quatro. there is also a huge essay on her career included within the pages.

All tracks on The Girl From Detroit City will be newly remastered.

Track Listing – The Girl From Detroit City

Disc: 1
1. What A Way To Die
2. Light Of Love
3. Locked In Your Love
4. Rolling Stone
5. Can The Can
6. Ain’t Ya Something Honey
7. 48 Crash
8. All Shook Up
9. Glycerine Queen
10. Daytona Demon
11. Roman Fingers
12. Devil Gate Drive
13. In The Morning
14. Too Big
15. The Wild One (Single Version)
16. Your Mamma Won’t Like Me
17. I Bit Off More Than I Could Chew
18. You Can Make Me Want You
19. Michael
20. I May Be Too Young
21. Half As Much As Me
22. American Lady (Alternative Version)

Disc: 2
1. Tear Me Apart
2. If You Can’t Give Me Love
3. Suicide
4. The Race Is On
5. Stumblin’ In (With Chris Norman)
6. I’ve Never Been In Love
7. Mind Demons
8. She’s In Love With You
9. Hollywood
10. Mama’s Boy
11. Love Hurts
12. Rock Hard
13. Lonely Is The Hardest
14. Ego In The Night
15. Lipstick
16. Glad All Over
17. Heart Of Stone
18. Main Attraction
19. Two Miles Out Of Georgia
20. Can I Be Your Girl
21. Good Girl (Looking For A Bad Time)
22. Wild Thing (With Reg Presley)

Disc: 3
1. I Got The Sun In The Morning
2. Moonshine Lullaby
3. If You Can’t Give Me Love (Piano Version)
4. Baby You’re A Star
5. Kiss Me Goodbye
6. Back To The Drive
7. I’ll Walk Through The Fire With You
8. No Choice
9. I Don’t Do Gentle
10. Fifteen Minutes Of Fame
11. Whatever Love Is
12. Strict Machine
13. Breaking Dishes
14. A Girl Like Me
15. Singing With Angels
16. Does Your Mama Know (With Andy Scott)
17. The Cost Of Living
18. Girl From Detroit City

Disc: 4
1. Curly Hair For Sale
2. Sugar Flash Rapper
3. Ain’t Got No Home
4. Sweet Nothin’s
5. Wild In The Night
6. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood
7. What Goes Around (Demo Version)
8. Love And War
9. Walking Through The Changes
10. Warm Leatherette
11. Intimate Strangers
12. And So To Bed
13. Sometimes Love Is Letting Go
14. Flying To My Destiny
15. Free The Butterfly
16. Ambition
17. If There Ever Was A Reason
18. Desperado (With Jeff Beck)
19. Dancing In The Wind
20. No Choice (Demo Version)

By MARowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.