Well, a bit late to all this news (it happens…often), but in the interest of informing those who may NOT already know, here’s my coverage:

On October 28, Rhino Records and Atlantic Records plan the elaborate releases of two of Led Zeppelin‘s best releases (in my own opinion) in the ongoing series of Led Zeppelin expanded remasters, which started with with Led Zeppelin, Led Zeppelin II, and Led Zeppelin III earlier in the year.

Here’s the break down:

LZIV CDLed Zeppelin IV came out in the dawning era of the ’70s (1971). Contained within the grooves are what I believe to be some of the greatest tracks ever recorded, which include “Rock and Roll”, and “Black Dog”. And while I’m one who think that “Stairway To Heaven” is overrated in comparison to those two tracks, there are many who would disagree. It’s there, too!

With the new reissue, Led Zeppelin IV will offer not only the anticipated audio update, but some bonus tracks on the second CD found in versions except the single CD issue. Unfortunately, the bonus inclusions are not compelling enough to swing the deal on a 2CD  (other than, perhaps, the alternate mix of “Rock and Roll”, which might lose its original flavor on subsequent replays). Nevertheless, the included bonus tracks are of interest to deep fans.

Led Zeppelin IV will offer:

Original Album

  • Black Dog
  • Rock and Roll
  • The Battle Of Evermore
  • Stairway To Heaven
  • Misty Mountain Hop
  • Four Sticks
  • Going To California
  • When The Levee Breaks

Bonus Audio

  • Black Dog (Basic track with guitar overdubs)
  • Rock and Roll (Alternate mix)
  • The Battle Of Evermore (Mandolin/Guitar mix from Headley Grange)
  • Stairway To Heaven (Sunset Sound mix)
  • Misty Mountain Hop (Alternate mix)
  • Four Sticks (Alternate mix)
  • Going To California (Mandolin/Guitar mix)
  • When the Levee Breaks (Alternate UK mix in progress)

The versions included will be a single CD, a 2CD set, a single LP, a 2LP set, the Super Deluxe Box, and DD.


LZ HotH CDAlso being released on the same October 28 date will be my personal favorite of the Led Zeppelin catalog, Houses Of The Holy. Released in 1973, this set delivered the excellent “Over The Hills And Far Away”, “Dancing Days”, “No Quarter”, “D’yer Mak’er”, and well, the whole album really. With this fresh reissue, the original gets its audio makeover with new packaging, as well as a set of bonus tracks (again, not compelling enough by themselves. Where are the recorded outtakes that never made it to the album?).

Houses Of The Holy will provide:

Original Album

  • The Song Remains the Same
  • The Rain Song
  • Over The Hills And Far Away
  • The Crunge
  • Dancing Days
  • D’yer Mak’er
  • No Quarter
  • The Ocean

Bonus Audio

  • The Song Remains The Same (Guitar overdub reference mix)
  • The Rain Song (Mix minus piano)
  • Over The Hills And Far Away (Guitar mix backing track)
  • The Crunge (Rough mix – Keys Up)
  • Dancing Days (Rough mix with vocal)
  • No Quarter (John Paul Jones keyboard overdubs – no vocal)
  • The Ocean (Working mix)

As with Led Zeppelin IV, the offerings here include single CD, 2CD Deluxe, single LP, 2LP set, DD, and the Super Deluxe Box set.

LZ HotH 2CD  LZ HotH LP  LZ HotH 2LP

The offered flavors of releases will include a single CD (for those satisfied with just an updated audio disc) repackaged in gatefold digipak; a 2CD Deluxe Edition with original album, the bonus tracks disc, all repackaged in a gatefold digipak; the original album on 180g-weight vinyl LP packaged in original sleeve offering, a 2LP set with the second 180g-weight LP containing the bonus tracks; high definition Digital Downloads of all tracks; and the massive Super Deluxe Edition Box with the following benefits –

  • Remastered album on CD in vinyl replica sleeve
  • Companion audio on CD in card wallet featuring new alternate cover art
  • Remastered album on 180-gram vinyl in a sleeve replicating first pressing
  • Companion audio on 180-gram vinyl in a sleeve with new alternate cover art
  • High-def audio download card of all content at 96kHz/24 bit
  • Hard bound, 80 page book filled with rare and previously unseen photos and memorabilia
  • High-quality print of the original album cover, the first 30,000 of which will be individually numbered in 96kHz/24-bit




Whatever your desire, these next additions to the ongoing Led Zeppelin catalog expanded remasters should spark an interest in many fans.

By MARowe

6 thoughts on “Led Zeppelin Reissues Continue With Led Zeppelin IV, Houses Of The Holy, Both In October”
  1. I can’t help but feel disappointed with these remasters. It seems like they could have been so much more.

    With that said, I have pre-ordered the two disc sets for each, mainly out of the need to be a completest and duty because, it is after all, f-ing Led Zeppelin!

    I was expecting Physical Graffiti to be part of this group as well. Now I am wondering if that will be released by itself with Presence and In Through The Out Door to follow, or all three released together. Is there supposed to be one for Coda?

  2. The biggest “could have been” for me would be to get a 5.1 multichannel release. Without that, I remain on the fence as I have the LZ box set from many years back and also some of the original CD releases.

    Had this been a 5.1 release, I would have bought it without an iota of hesitation…well, unless it was only available in a “Super Deluxe” set with a bunch of other stuff I don’t want for a super-high price (a lot “Aqualung” or “Moondance).

    I think I heard somewhere along the line that Jimmy Page had no interest in making a surround mix. His call of course, but that doesn’t mean I can’t hope he might change his mind someday :) …

  3. What I learned from the first three reissues is that the audio is of little improvement to my ears at least over the first set of remasters. In fact, I enjoy my German-pressed first remasters more than these new ones. What I crave and will not likely get is a proper remix to bring the most out of the instruments, as Steven Wilson does with most of his excellent remixing work. Having said that, at least on Amazon Canada, the two-disc editions are like only a $1.50 more than the single discs, so why not? IV and V I think were recorded fairly well so perhaps a new master might help them along. For LZ, it is worth the chance for me.

  4. Matt-Perhaps some of the stuff from Houses Of The Holy will make it onto the Coda reissue. Bill, the last people had heard over at the Hoffman Forum was that Physical Graffiti and Presence will be released in February/March and then Summer 2015 for In Through The Out Door and Coda. Physical Graffiti was not planned to be part of the second wave of releases-just the third wave.

    1. Thanks for the info Steve. I guess I wasn’t paying attention when the news of the reissues were first announced. I just figured the since the first batch was three albums, that the others would be released in groups of three as well.

  5. For those of you who are wondering about the lack of live material on the latest releases and the “missing” Physical Graffiti set.
    I have a friend at Warners, and we actually discussed these items recently. Understand that the best of the material from 4 and HOTH has already been released on How the West Was Won. Yes, not single concerts like the Olympia, but word came down that JP himself didn’t want to include items fans could easily obtain elsewhere. And, as far as Physical Graffiti, word is again you will not be disappointed with the box set. It is set for possible release right about the 40th anniversary (which would place it in Feb 2015), there should be either a bonus DVD/Ray and CD combo of the entire Earl’s Court shows they filmed in 1975, which are considered by many to be LZ at their peak. So, make PG your wish list item for Valentine’s Day, because it should be nothing but love from JP.

Comments are closed.